Moxi vs BBL (and Why Many Med Spas Combine Them)

Searching “BBL Moxi laser” brings up two Sciton treatments that Sciton markets as one combined session: Moxi, a fractionated non-ablative 1927 nm laser, and BBL, which is not actually a laser but Sciton's brand of intense pulsed light. Sciton positions Moxi around skin tone and texture, and BBL around color — sun damage, spots and redness. Here is how the two differ, what each targets, and what combining them means for downtime and cost.

Fractionated 1927 nm laserMoxiSciton: 8–10 minutes per treatment, 2–4 recommended
Intense pulsed light — not a laserBBLSciton's IPL brand; HEROic launched 2024
Marketed by ScitonCombined session“MOXI combined with BBL HEROic,” on one mJOULE platform
None foundNational average priceASPS's 2025 release reports no IPL/BBL fees

Key takeaways

  • Moxi is a fractionated, non-ablative 1927 nm laser; BBL is Sciton's brand of intense pulsed light, not a laser.
  • Sciton positions BBL for color (spots, freckles, redness) and Moxi for uneven tone and texture; the two overlap on pigment.
  • Sciton markets them as one combined session, but no source gives the order or the combined downtime.
  • No national price was found for either device, and Sciton recommends a series of 2 to 4 Moxi treatments.
  • The AAD recommends a dermatologist skin exam before treating age spots.

How Moxi and BBL differ

Both treatments are made by Sciton and run on the same device platforms, but they use different kinds of light.

Moxi is a fractionated, non-ablative 1927 nm laser — in ASDS's definitions, a non-ablative laser creates heat without injuring the skin surface, while ablative resurfacing removes layers of skin.

Sciton says a Moxi treatment takes 8–10 minutes, penetrates about 100–200 microns into the skin, and recommends 2 to 4 treatments.

BBL — short for BroadBand Light — is not a laser.

It is Sciton's own brand of intense pulsed light (IPL), a category ASPS defines as a minimally invasive, non-laser light treatment that emits multiple wavelengths, which the skin absorbs and converts to heat, targeting pigment, blood vessels and hair follicles.

Sciton developed its BroadBand Light technology from 2004, launched BBL HERO in 2020, and released the current BBL HEROic in 2024, adding motion tracking, automated pulse placement and nine swappable wavelength filters.

Moxi

  • A laser: fractionated, non-ablative, 1927 nm
  • A single wavelength working at a shallow depth
  • Creates heat without injuring the skin surface

BBL

  • Not a laser: Sciton's brand of intense pulsed light
  • Broad-spectrum light flashes filtered to different bands
  • Targets pigment, blood vessels and hair follicles

That is the mechanical difference in one line: a single laser wavelength working at a shallow depth, versus broad-spectrum light flashes filtered to different bands.

Everything else on this page — what each targets, downtime, price — follows from it.

Each treatment also has its own guide on this site: the Moxi laser hub and the BBL photofacial hub.

BBL is not a laser

When a practice says “BBL laser,” the device behind the name is Sciton's BroadBand Light — its brand of intense pulsed light, a non-laser treatment in ASPS's definition. Moxi is the actual laser of the pair.

Which targets pigment, which targets texture?

BBL is the color device.

Sciton's Forever Young BBL protocol is aimed at aging and sun damage — age spots, freckles, redness and small vessels — and Sciton says BBL HEROic's light modes treat skin types I–V for pigment, vascular and rosacea redness, mild-to-moderate inflammatory acne and hair removal.

Moxi's lane is set by its clearance, with a naming caveat.

The 510(k) covering Sciton's 1927 nm wavelength (K182173, cleared 6 March 2019) lists coagulation of soft tissue, actinic keratosis, and benign pigmented lesions such as lentigos (age spots), solar lentigos (sun spots) and freckles — melasma is not listed.

The document names the platform's 1927 nm laser rather than the Moxi trade name, and our research did not locate a Moxi-specific 510(k) summary, so we describe the clearance at the wavelength level.

Pigment therefore sits in both devices' territory: age spots, sun spots and freckles are cleared uses of the 1927 nm wavelength, and sun damage and its spots are what Sciton's Forever Young BBL protocol targets.

Texture is where the paths split.

The 1927 nm clearance names no wrinkle or texture indication — “prejuvenation” and “glow” are Sciton marketing terms, not cleared indications — and BBL is, per ASPS's definition, a light device for pigment and vessels rather than a resurfacing laser.

Sciton positions Moxi for uneven tone and texture, and a 2020 review of 1440/1927 nm non-ablative fractional lasers — a different device, not Moxi — reports improvements in tone, texture, fine lines and discoloration with transient side effects and minimal downtime.

MoxiBBL
Light typeFractionated non-ablative 1927 nm laserBroadband intense pulsed light, nine filters
Maker's targetEarly sun damage, uneven tone and textureAge spots, freckles, redness, small vessels
Session time8–10 minutesAbout 30 minutes (Forever Young BBL)
Downtime“Little to no” (Sciton)“Typically minimal” (Sciton)
Recommended sessions2–4 (Sciton)Not stated on the protocol page we reviewed
Skin types (Sciton's stated scope)All, year-round — Sciton's claim; 1927 nm targets water, not pigmentHEROic light modes: I–V; SkinTyte mode: V–VI

Every figure in the table is Sciton's own published description of its devices, and our research found no independent trial comparing the two devices head to head.

Why combine BBL and Moxi in one visit?

Sciton itself markets the pairing: “MOXI combined with BBL HEROic,” delivered from the same mJOULE platform, which hosts both handpieces.

The pitch follows from the division of labor above — one device for color, one for tone and texture — though that framing is the manufacturer's, and our research found no independent comparative data behind it.

The BBL half may carry Sciton's “Forever Young BBL” branding, its protocol name for a BBL HEROic treatment aimed at aging and sun damage.

Sciton says sessions take about 30 minutes and that patients feel warm for 30–60 minutes afterward.

The study behind the “Forever Young” concept deserves a close read: a small Stanford pilot published in the Journal of Investigative Dermatology in 2013 found that BBL treatment shifted the expression of 1,293 of 2,265 aging-associated RNAs toward a youthful pattern.

It measured gene expression, not visible clinical results.

1,293 of 2,265Aging-associated RNAs shifted toward a youthful pattern after BBLSmall Stanford pilot, J Invest Dermatol 2013; measured gene expression, not visible results

Combined downtime and cost

On downtime, Sciton's own published numbers put both devices at the light end of its range: Moxi is described as little-to-no downtime, and Forever Young BBL's downtime is “typically minimal.” For contrast, Sciton's Halo — its hybrid fractional laser, which adds an ablative wavelength Moxi does not have — lists 3 to 5 days of downtime on its own patient page.

That is one maker's published range, not an independent measurement.

Little to noMoxi downtimeSciton
3–5 daysHalo downtime, for contrastSciton Halo patient page

What no source specifies is the combination.

We found no manufacturer or clinical source giving the combined downtime of a Moxi plus BBL session, or which device should be done first.

We also found no independent, Moxi-specific day-by-day recovery timeline, so any hour-by-hour description you see online rests on clinic or manufacturer descriptions.

On price, there is no national anchor to quote.

ASPS's 2025 statistics release does not report minimally invasive procedure fees at all, so no current ASPS average fee exists for IPL/BBL, and we could not confirm a national price for Moxi either.

The number of sessions is a main price driver, and Moxi is a 2 to 4 treatment series by Sciton's own recommendation, so a “Moxi plan” can be several visits.

With no national figure found for either device, what a practice charges — per session or in packages, and what a package includes — is set locally: ask whether a quoted package includes both devices, how many passes of each, and over how many visits.

Which to book first

Start from the complaint you want addressed, not from the device name.

If color leads — age spots, freckles, general redness — BBL is the device Sciton builds for that job.

If uneven tone and texture lead, Moxi is Sciton's fractional 1927 nm option, and the 1927 nm clearance covers age spots, sun spots and freckles too.

Which one fits a given face is a question for the licensed provider who examines your skin, because the two overlap on pigment.

Skin type is a real filter on the BBL side: Sciton says BBL HEROic's light modes treat skin types I–V on the Fitzpatrick scale, not VI, and describes only its SkinTyte infrared mode as usable on types V and VI.

Sciton's claim that Moxi suits all skin types, year-round, rests on the 1927 nm wavelength targeting water rather than pigment — it is the maker's claim, not an independent finding.

If you book a combined session, ask two things up front: who will operate each handpiece, and in what order.

Sciton promotes Moxi as “easily delegable” — designed to be performed by staff — but who may legally operate it is set by state law, so it is a fair question even at a physician-led practice.

On order, there is no published answer: our research found no source specifying whether BBL or Moxi should come first.

What looks like an age spot can be skin cancer

The AAD warns that what looks like an age spot could be skin cancer, and that using a fading treatment on a skin cancer can give it time to grow and spread. Its recommendation is a skin exam by a board-certified dermatologist before treating age spots. Make that the step before any spot-targeted laser or light session.

Frequently asked questions

Is BBL a laser?

No. BBL is Sciton's brand of intense pulsed light, and ASPS defines IPL as a non-laser light treatment that emits multiple wavelengths, which the skin converts to heat, targeting pigment, blood vessels and hair follicles.

Moxi is the actual laser in the “BBL Moxi laser” pairing: a fractionated, non-ablative 1927 nm laser.

Can you do Moxi and BBL on the same day?

Sciton markets “MOXI combined with BBL HEROic” as a combined treatment on its mJOULE platform, which hosts both handpieces.

What we could not find is any manufacturer or clinical source saying which device should be done first or what the combined downtime is, so the protocol to ask about is your practice's own: how do they sequence the two, and what recovery do they expect?

How many Moxi treatments will I need?

Sciton says Moxi can work in as little as one treatment but recommends 2 to 4.

That range matters for price, because the number of sessions is a main price driver.

Ask whether a quote covers one session or a series.

Sciton's Forever Young BBL protocol page does not state a session count, so ask the same question on the BBL side.

Is Moxi or BBL better for melasma?

Melasma is not listed in the cleared indications of Sciton's 1927 nm 510(k), so it is not a cleared use of the wavelength behind Moxi.

For BBL, Sciton says HEROic treats pigment, vascular and rosacea redness, mild-to-moderate inflammatory acne and hair removal; our research did not confirm a melasma claim or clearance for BBL either way.

A 2020 evidence review of 113 studies concluded that chemical peels and laser or light therapies are equal or inferior to topical creams, with a higher risk of adverse effects.

Evidence on light devices for melasma is mixed, recurrence is high, and lasers sit on top of topical treatment and sun protection, not in place of them.

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.

  1. Skin Experts · asds.net
  2. MOXI™ Laser by Sciton · sciton.com
  3. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  4. The 1440 nm and 1927 nm Nonablative Fractional Diode Laser: Current Trends and Future Directions · Friedman et al., J Drugs Dermatol, 2020
  5. BBL® HEROic™️ by Sciton · sciton.com
  6. Forever Young BBL® · sciton.com
  7. HALO® Laser by Sciton · sciton.com
  8. HALO® Laser Treatments · sciton.com
  9. MOXI™ Laser by Sciton · sciton.com
  10. Melasma Treatment: An Evidence-Based Review · McKesey et al., Am J Clin Dermatol, 2020
  11. Rejuvenation of gene expression pattern of aged human skin by broadband light treatment: a pilot study · Chang et al., J Invest Dermatol, 2013
  12. plasticsurgery.org · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
  13. What can get rid of age spots? · American Academy of Dermatology
  14. Thermage · thermage.com

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.