Laser & energy

Halo Laser: Hybrid Fractional Treatment, Cost and Recovery

Halo is Sciton's hybrid fractional laser: it delivers a non-ablative 1470 nm and an ablative 2940 nm wavelength at the same time, to the same microscopic treatment zone. Sciton's patient page lists 15–30 minute treatments with topical anesthetic, 3–5 days of downtime and 1–2 treatments, with initial results in 2–5 days. This guide covers how it works, what it treats, cost, recovery, risks and choosing a provider.

1470 nm + 2940 nmTechnologynon-ablative and ablative, same microscopic zones (Sciton)
15–30 minutesTreatment timewith topical anesthetic, per Sciton
3–5 daysDowntimeSciton's patient page; a deeper treatment adds a few extra days
1–2 treatmentsSessionstypical, per Sciton

Key takeaways

  • Halo delivers an ablative 2940 nm and a non-ablative 1470 nm wavelength to the same microscopic treatment zones.
  • Sciton lists 3–5 days of downtime; a deeper treatment adds a few extra days.
  • There is no reliable national average price for Halo; ASPS's $1,829 figure covers laser resurfacing as a category.
  • We found no independent study testing how long Halo results last.
  • For melasma, the evidence puts topicals first; laser and light therapies were equal or inferior, with a higher risk of adverse effects.

What is the Halo laser and how does it work?

Halo is a "hybrid fractional laser" sold by Sciton, and it runs on Sciton's JOULE platform.

It delivers two wavelengths at the same time, to the same microscopic treatment zone: a non-ablative 1470 nm wavelength and an ablative 2940 nm wavelength.

Each wavelength does a different job.

Sciton says the 2940 nm wavelength can be tuned from 20 to 100 µm to vaporize tissue at the surface of each zone, while the 1470 nm wavelength heats (coagulates) tissue from 250 to 700 µm deep.

Because both wavelengths are delivered at the same time, the provider sets the surface treatment and the deeper heating separately rather than choosing one or the other.

20–100 µm2940 nm ablation depth, tunableSciton, original Halo
250–700 µm1470 nm coagulation depthSciton, original Halo

"Fractional" means the beam treats the skin in microscopic zones rather than as one continuous sheet.

It does not mean the treatment is recovery-free: Sciton itself lists 3 to 5 days of downtime for Halo, and Cleveland Clinic puts recovery for fractional laser resurfacing generally at one full week.

Sciton also sells a newer handpiece, HALO TRIBRID, on its JOULE X platform.

It combines three independently controlled wavelengths: 2940 nm Er:YAG ablation tuned from 20 to 150 µm, a non-ablative 1927 nm wavelength Sciton describes as treating superficial pigment, and the 1470 nm wavelength tuned from 300 to 700 µm.

Note that the Tribrid's ablation range is wider than the original Halo's 20 to 100 µm, so the two handpieces are not interchangeable in what they can be set to do.

Cleared at the platform, not the brand name

Lasers are 510(k)-cleared devices, not FDA-approved. In our research, Sciton's 510(k) clearances sit at its JOULE platform level, and we found no 510(k) that names Halo itself. Ask any office to tell you which exact system and clearance applies to your treatment.

What does Halo laser treat, and who is a good candidate (and who is not)?

Start with an honest limit: our research captured Halo's technology and Sciton's recovery descriptions, but it did not surface a list of FDA-cleared indications for the Halo handpiece, so we cannot tell you what Halo is cleared to treat.

The cleared wording that exists in our research belongs to Sciton's platform-level clearances, not to the Halo brand name.

Ask a provider directly what the device in their office is cleared for and what they use it to treat.

What Sciton's own descriptions target is easier to pin down.

The 2940 nm wavelength vaporizes tissue at the skin surface, the 1470 nm wavelength heats tissue up to 700 µm deep, and the Tribrid handpiece adds a 1927 nm wavelength that Sciton describes as addressing superficial pigment.

Those are wavelength-level descriptions from the manufacturer, not a cleared indication list.

On candidacy, we did not find Halo-specific criteria — skin types, ages or conditions — published in the material our research captured.

A licensed provider evaluates your skin, your medical history and your medications before deciding whether a fractional resurfacing treatment suits you.

Two sourced cautions apply to anyone considering a laser for pigment concerns, and they are below.

The first is melasma, where the evidence puts topicals first.

A 2020 evidence review (113 studies, 6,897 participants) found hydroquinone and triple-combination cream are the most effective, best-studied melasma treatments, with chemical peels and laser or light therapies "equal or inferior to topicals" and carrying a higher risk of adverse effects.

The American Academy of Dermatology says adding laser or light treatment improved results in a few studies for people already using topical medication and sun protection.

If melasma is your concern, start with our melasma guide.

Get an age spot checked before you laser it

The American Academy of Dermatology warns that what looks like an age spot could be skin cancer, and that using a fading treatment on a skin cancer can give it time to grow and spread. It recommends a board-certified dermatologist skin exam before treating age spots.

How much does Halo laser cost?

Session count is one of the main price drivers: Sciton lists 1 to 2 treatments as the typical course for Halo, so ask what a quote covers — one session or a package — and at what settings.

The planned depth and intensity matter too, because they change your recovery: Sciton says a deeper treatment adds "a few extra days of downtime." Ask what settings a quote assumes before you compare prices.

For the full price picture, see how much Halo laser costs.

There is no reliable national average price for Halo, and we will not invent one.

ASPS's 2025 Procedural Statistics Release does not report fees for minimally invasive procedures, which means no current ASPS average fee exists for Halo, IPL/BBL, Thermage, Sofwave or sclerotherapy.

RealSelf cost pages could not be read during our research, so no figure from there is verifiable for us either.

The nearest national benchmark is ASPS's laser skin resurfacing cost page, which gives an average of $1,829.

Read it carefully: it covers laser resurfacing as a category, it is the physician fee only, it excludes related expenses, and ASPS does not state the year on the page.

It is not a Halo price.

$1,829ASPS average for laser skin resurfacing as a categoryPhysician fee only, year not stated; not a Halo price

Prices vary by city and by practice, so ask each office for its per-session price at the settings and session count it proposes.

Where a practice offers third-party financing, read the terms before signing; our guide to med spa financing covers the main programs and their traps.

Find Halo laser providers near you

Compare Google ratings, reviews and posted prices at med spas in your city.

How many sessions do you need and how long do results last?

Sciton lists 1 to 2 treatments as the typical course, and its page puts noticeable results at about one week.

For comparison, the session figures for other fractional lasers are worded differently by their makers: Solta says Fraxel results may show after one treatment but up to five treatments may be appropriate, Solta says 4 to 6 treatments for visible results with Clear + Brilliant, and Sciton recommends 2 to 4 for its lighter Moxi laser.

The result timeline Sciton describes runs like this: initial results appear 2 to 5 days after treatment, pigment improvement is greatest in the first 2 to 3 weeks, and regeneration in the dermis continues for months.

Those are the manufacturer's statements.

2–5 daysInitial results appearSciton
2–3 weeksPigment improvement is greatestSciton; dermal regeneration continues for months

How long the results last is the question our research cannot answer.

We found no independent clinical trial testing the duration of Halo results, so we cannot give you a month or year count, and you should be skeptical of pages that do.

About the "results last for years" claim

Sciton's patient page says Halo results "will last for years," but the page cites no data for that claim, and we found no independent study testing it. Treat any years-long duration you read as manufacturer marketing, and ask a provider what follow-up their own patients need.

Does Halo laser hurt, and what is the downtime?

Sciton's patient page lists a 15 to 30 minute treatment with topical anesthetic.

We did not find independent pain scores for Halo in our research, so we cannot tell you how much it hurts; the honest step is to ask the office how patients describe it at the settings they plan for you.

The downtime Sciton lists is 3 to 5 days.

The healing course it describes: the skin feels tight, red and swollen at first, like a sunburn.

On days 2 to 3, a bronzed, sandpaper-like texture forms as microscopic epidermal necrotic debris (MENDs) rises to the surface.

The debris falls off by day 4 or 5, depending on treatment depth and intensity, and redness and swelling begin to subside 3 to 4 days after treatment.

For the full timeline, see Halo laser recovery day by day.

The Halo healing course, per Sciton

WhenWhat Sciton describes
At firstTightness, redness and swelling, like a sunburn
Days 2–3A bronzed, sandpaper-like texture forms as MENDs rise to the surface
Days 3–4Redness and swelling begin to subside
Day 4 or 5The debris falls off, depending on treatment depth and intensity
First 7 daysDaily sunscreen and no direct sun

Settings change the recovery.

Sciton says a light treatment leaves skin ready for makeup the next day, while a deeper treatment adds "a few extra days of downtime." Its aftercare instructions are daily sunscreen and no direct sun for 7 days.

Two benchmarks from other sources, so you can see how sources differ: Cleveland Clinic puts recovery for fractional laser resurfacing generally at one full week, and up to two weeks for traditional CO2 resurfacing, with treated areas healing in 5 to 21 days depending on the condition and the laser.

Sciton's 3 to 5 days is the manufacturer's figure for its own device.

One gap to know: we did not find manufacturer guidance on when to resume exercise after a Halo treatment.

Follow your provider's instructions on that rather than anything you read online, including here.

What are the side effects and risks of Halo laser?

What Sciton describes as the normal course — redness, swelling, a sunburn-like feeling and the bronzed MENDs texture that sheds by day 4 or 5 — sits in the recovery section above.

Those are expected effects the manufacturer lists, not complications.

Our research did not capture a Halo-specific adverse-event list from Sciton, so we cannot enumerate the device's own complication rates, and no page should quote you percentages for it.

Ask the office for the risk list on its consent form before you sign it.

Class-level evidence gives you the categories to ask about.

A 2026 systematic review of facial laser complications (13 studies, 2,010 cases from 2019 to 2025) found post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation was the most common complication, particularly in Fitzpatrick skin types IV to VI; ablative lasers (CO2 and Er:YAG) carried the highest risks of scarring and infection; and eye injuries were less common but among the most severe.

Halo's 2940 nm wavelength is an Er:YAG wavelength, so the ablative findings are the ones that apply.

For one manufacturer's own list, Solta's safety information for Fraxel — a different fractional resurfacing laser — names blistering and burns, temporary or permanent skin color change, eye injury, infection, keloids, prolonged redness, scarring and bruising among possible adverse events, and flags keloid tendency, systemic steroids and isotretinoin as contraindications.

Fraxel is prescription-only.

Each laser has its own list; ask for the one that applies to the device you will be treated with.

Serious risks to ask about before you book

Laser resurfacing can cause serious injury. The categories manufacturers and reviews report for this class of treatment include burns and blistering, scarring, infection, permanent skin color change and eye injury. If you notice spreading pain, blistering, drainage or fever after a treatment, contact the treating provider promptly — and seek emergency care for anything that feels like an emergency.

Halo laser vs alternatives: which is right for you?

Halo belongs to the laser resurfacing family, and that guide lays out the full landscape of ablative, non-ablative and hybrid options.

Here is how the devices in this family differ, using each maker's own figures.

Sciton's own lighter option is Moxi, a fractionated non-ablative 1927 nm laser.

Sciton says a Moxi treatment takes 8 to 10 minutes, penetrates about 100 to 200 µm and that 2 to 4 treatments are recommended, with downtime Sciton describes as little to none.

The structural difference is that Halo adds the ablative 2940 nm wavelength, and with it Sciton's 3 to 5 days of downtime.

Both figures are the manufacturer's own.

Halo (Sciton)

  • Hybrid: ablative 2940 nm plus non-ablative 1470 nm
  • 15–30 minute treatment
  • 1–2 treatments typically needed
  • 3–5 days of downtime

Moxi (Sciton)

  • Non-ablative 1927 nm only
  • 8–10 minute treatment
  • 2–4 treatments recommended

Solta's Fraxel FTX uses two wavelengths, 1550 nm and 1927 nm, and Solta says up to five treatments may be appropriate.

Solta's Clear + Brilliant is the lighter entry in that family, with 4 to 6 treatments for visible results by its own account.

BBL is a different category altogether: it is Sciton's brand of intense pulsed light, and ASPS defines IPL as a non-laser light treatment whose wavelengths convert to heat to target pigment, blood vessels and hair follicles — it is not a laser.

Traditional CO2 resurfacing sits at the ablative end, with Cleveland Clinic's recovery figure of up to two weeks.

DeviceMakerSessions, in the maker's words
HaloSciton1–2 typically needed
MoxiSciton2–4 recommended
Fraxel FTXSoltaUp to 5 may be appropriate
Clear + BrilliantSolta4–6 for visible results

Which of these fits you best is not a question we can answer, and neither is any page that names a winner.

Our research captured no head-to-head trial comparing Halo's results against these alternatives, so published comparisons rest on each maker's own figures.

The variables that actually decide it — your skin, your goals, your recovery window and your budget — are what a licensed provider should weigh with you.

How do you choose a Halo laser provider near you?

Start with the hardware.

Ask which handpiece the office uses — Halo and HALO TRIBRID have different wavelength sets and different ablation ranges — and which platform it runs on.

Then ask for the plan in numbers: the settings and depths planned, how many sessions, and the total price of the plan rather than of one session.

The planned depth changes your recovery, so it belongs in the conversation before you pay.

Ask who will operate the laser, what license they hold and who supervises the treatment.

These rules are set state by state: AmSpa, the med spa trade association, says injecting botulinum toxin is the practice of medicine because a prescription drug is being used to affect living tissue, so it must be done by a physician, an independent-practice NP or another licensed professional acting within their scope, under rules that vary by state.

States can also be stricter about lasers — Alabama, for one, allows only physicians to perform ablative laser skin resurfacing such as CO2 and deeper erbium treatments.

Our guide to med spa laws by state covers who can inject and who must supervise.

Judge before-and-after photos with the advertising rules in mind.

Under the FTC's Endorsement Guides, a result shown in an ad is read as representative of what consumers generally achieve, and the FTC says a "results not typical" disclaimer on its own is generally not enough — so ask when each photo was taken and how many treatments it represents.

Your own photos are covered too: HIPAA requires a covered provider to get your written authorization before using identifiable patient photos for marketing.

For more on reading results photos, see Halo laser before and after.

Finally, the general discipline — credentials to check, questions to ask, red flags — is the same for any med spa treatment, and our guide to how to choose a med spa walks through it step by step.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Halo laser FDA-approved?

No cosmetic laser is FDA-approved; devices are cleared through the 510(k) process or similar pathways.

In our research, Sciton's clearances sit at its JOULE platform level, and we found no 510(k) that names the Halo handpiece itself.

Ask any office you are considering to tell you which exact system and clearance applies to the treatment they are proposing.

How much does Halo laser treatment cost?

There is no reliable national average for Halo: the ASPS's 2025 statistics release does not report fees for minimally invasive procedures, so no current ASPS average fee exists for it.

For scale, ASPS lists an average of $1,829 for laser skin resurfacing as a category — physician fee only, year not stated.

Session count is one of the main price drivers, and Sciton lists 1 to 2 treatments as the typical course, so ask local offices for a per-session price at their planned settings.

How many Halo laser treatments will I need?

Sciton lists 1 to 2 treatments as typical for Halo.

Its page says initial results appear 2 to 5 days after treatment, pigment improvement is greatest in the first 2 to 3 weeks, and dermal regeneration continues for months.

The right count for you depends on the settings and the concern being treated, which is a conversation to have with a licensed provider before you book.

Does the Halo laser hurt?

We did not find independent pain scores for Halo.

Sciton's patient page lists a 15 to 30 minute treatment with topical anesthetic, which is the manufacturer's own description of how the discomfort is managed.

Downtime depends on the settings and depth — Sciton says a deeper treatment adds "a few extra days of downtime" — so ask the office how patients describe the treatment at the settings they plan for you.

What is the difference between Halo and Moxi?

Both are Sciton fractional lasers.

Halo is the hybrid: an ablative 2940 nm and a non-ablative 1470 nm wavelength delivered at the same time, with 3 to 5 days of downtime and 1 to 2 treatments per Sciton.

Moxi is non-ablative only, a 1927 nm wavelength; Sciton says a treatment takes 8 to 10 minutes, 2 to 4 treatments are recommended and downtime is what Sciton describes as little to none.

Sciton puts Halo's 1470 nm coagulation at 250 to 700 µm deep against about 100 to 200 µm penetration for Moxi, so Halo treats deeper; Moxi is the lighter course.

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.

  1. HALO® Laser by Sciton · sciton.com
  2. HALO® TRIBRID™ Laser by Sciton · sciton.com
  3. HALO® Laser Treatments · sciton.com
  4. MOXI™ Laser by Sciton · sciton.com
  5. Fraxel · fraxel.com
  6. Melasma Treatment: An Evidence-Based Review · McKesey et al., Am J Clin Dermatol, 2020
  7. Melasma: Diagnosis and treatment · American Academy of Dermatology
  8. plasticsurgery.org · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
  9. What can get rid of age spots? · American Academy of Dermatology
  10. BBL® HEROic™️ by Sciton · sciton.com
  11. 45 CFR 164.508 -- Uses and disclosures for which an authorization is required. · ecfr.gov
  12. 16 CFR 255.2 -- Consumer endorsements. · ecfr.gov
  13. Laser Skin Resurfacing Cost · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
  14. Thermage · thermage.com
  15. Laser Skin Resurfacing: Lasers Types, Skin Conditions, What to Expect · Cleveland Clinic
  16. Facial laser complications (A Five Year Review) · Zhorov et al., Lasers Med Sci, 2026
  17. What Are the Rules for Who Can Inject Neurotoxins? · American Med Spa Association
  18. Ala. Admin. Code r. 540-X-11-.07 - Procedure And Device Requirements For Physicians And Delegates · law.cornell.edu

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.