Body & wellness

Cellulite Treatment at a Med Spa: What Works and What It Costs

Cellulite treatment at a med spa means in-office procedures that aim to reduce the dimpled look of skin. Avéli, Cellfina, Resonic, Thermage FLX and Sofwave hold FDA 510(k) clearances whose cleared wording names cellulite; Avéli's and Cellfina's are limited to the buttocks and thighs of adult females. No injectable in our research holds one: Sculptra's approvals are all facial, Radiesse's add the hands, jawline and décolleté, and QWO, once approved for cellulite, left the market in 2022.

Avéli, Cellfina, Resonic, Thermage FLX, SofwaveDevices cleared for cellulite510(k) clearances — cleared, not approved
5 yearsLongest stated data windowCellfina clearance data, buttocks and thighs
QWO — discontinuedInjectable once approvedEndo ceased production and sale, December 2022
None we could confirmNational average priceget itemized quotes; cosmetic costs generally not deductible

Key takeaways

  • Avéli, Cellfina, Resonic, Thermage FLX and Sofwave hold 510(k) clearances whose wording names cellulite — cleared, not approved.
  • Every cellulite clearance is about the appearance of cellulite over a fixed data window, not a permanent change.
  • QWO, the one injectable once approved for cellulite, was discontinued by Endo in December 2022.
  • Sculptra and hyperdilute Radiesse for cellulite are off-label uses, and Morpheus8's cleared wording does not mention cellulite.
  • We could not confirm a national average price; ask for itemized quotes that name the device.

Which in-office cellulite treatments work?

A 2015 evidence-based review estimated that 80 to 90 percent of women have cellulite after puberty.

80–90%Share of post-pubertal women with cellulite2015 evidence-based review

"Works" is a high bar for cellulite: a 2015 systematic review of 67 cellulite-treatment studies found most had important methodological flaws, saw no clear evidence of good efficacy for any treatment, and found some evidence only for acoustic wave therapy and a 1440-nm minimally invasive laser.

The firmer ground is what FDA has actually cleared.

The devices in our research with 510(k) clearances whose cleared wording names cellulite are Avéli, Cellfina, Resonic, Thermage FLX and Sofwave.

These are clearances, not approvals: 510(k) is the device pathway, and unless a use appears in a device's cleared wording, treating that concern is not a cleared use of the device.

DeviceMakerCleared cellulite wordingData window
Avéli (K212399, Oct 2021)Revelle AestheticsTemporary reduction in the appearance of cellulite — buttocks and thighs, adult femalesBenefits observed through 3 months
Cellfina (K150505, 2015; current K192185, Oct 2019)Ulthera/MerzLong-term improvement in the appearance of cellulite — buttocks and thighs, adult femalesNo significant reduction in benefit through 5 years
Resonic (K222629, Sept 2022)Soliton/Zeltiq (Allergan)Long-term improvement in the appearance of celluliteBenefits observed up to 1 year
Thermage FLX (K170758, 2017)SoltaTemporary improvement in the appearance of cellulite (with vibration)Not stated in the wording we reviewed
Sofwave (latest K250146, April 2025)Sofwave MedicalShort-term improvement in the appearance of celluliteNot stated in the wording we reviewed

The American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) rates acoustic wave therapy, some laser treatments, subcision (Cellfina) and vacuum-assisted precise tissue release as having the best research support for cellulite — and says cryolipolysis (fat freezing), mesotherapy and supplements are not recommended for cellulite.

Best research support (AAD)

  • Acoustic wave therapy
  • Some laser treatments
  • Subcision (Cellfina)
  • Vacuum-assisted precise tissue release

Not recommended for cellulite (AAD)

  • Cryolipolysis (fat freezing)
  • Mesotherapy
  • Supplements
  • Liposuction, which can make dimpling more obvious

What about body contouring for cellulite?

AAD draws a line between fat and cellulite: it says cellulite differs from fat, that treatments that remove fat often have no effect on cellulite, and that liposuction is not recommended for cellulite and can make dimpling more obvious.

Our body contouring guide covers the fat-reduction devices separately.

Injectables are the gap in the cleared list.

QWO (collagenase clostridium histolyticum-aaes, Endo) was an injectable FDA approved for cellulite on July 6, 2020, but Endo announced on December 6, 2022 that it would cease production and sale, citing market concerns about the extent and variability of bruising after initial treatment and the potential for prolonged skin discoloration.

It is not a cellulite treatment you can get today, and our research found no other injectable with a cellulite approval or clearance — Sculptra and hyperdilute Radiesse included, as the biostimulator section below explains.

Red light therapy comes up in cellulite searches too; Cleveland Clinic states there is no scientific evidence supporting red light therapy for cellulite removal.

Cleared wording is about appearance

Every cellulite clearance on this page reads "reduction" or "improvement in the appearance of cellulite" — appearance measures over fixed observation windows. None reads as a cure or a permanent change.

Subcision-based cellulite treatments: Avéli and Cellfina

Cellulite involves changes in the fibrous connective bands (septa) under the skin, and a 2023 roundtable review of the field found that treatments targeting those bands have shown the most consistent results.

Two of the cellulite clearances belong to subcision devices: Avéli, a handheld subcision device from Revelle Aesthetics, and Cellfina, a vacuum-assisted subcision system from Ulthera/Merz.

Avéli was 510(k) cleared on October 22, 2021 (K212399) for temporary reduction in the appearance of cellulite in the buttocks and thighs of adult females, supported by clinical data through three months of observation.

Revelle has received two further Avéli 510(k)s since, in August 2022 and August 2023; we have not read those clearances' indication wording, so the temporary, three-month framing here is the 2021 clearance's.

Ask any provider what Avéli's current cleared wording says.

Cellfina was first cleared on July 29, 2015 (K150505); in October 2019 (K192185) it was cleared for long-term improvement in the appearance of cellulite in the buttocks and thighs of adult females, with data showing no significant reduction in benefit through five years.

Both clearances are narrow: adult females, buttocks and thighs, and the wording is about appearance — no other body area and no male indication appears in either.

AAD puts subcision (Cellfina) and vacuum-assisted precise tissue release in the group of cellulite treatments with the best research support.

Side effects and session counts

Our sources — the FDA clearance summaries and the reviews above — do not include side-effect rates, pain scores or session counts for Avéli, Cellfina or Resonic. Ask any provider you consult for the device's risk information and how many visits their plan involves before you book.

Energy-based cellulite devices: RF and acoustic wave

Resonic (Soliton/Zeltiq, Allergan) is the cleared acoustic-wave option: a rapid acoustic pulse device cleared in September 2022 (K222629) for long-term improvement in the appearance of cellulite, supported by data up to 1 year.

It is separately cleared as an accessory for black-ink tattoo removal — a reminder that one platform can carry several unrelated clearances.

AAD counts acoustic wave therapy among the cellulite treatments with the best research support.

Two RF platforms carry cellulite wording of their own: Thermage FLX (Solta, K170758, 2017) is cleared, with its vibration feature, for temporary improvement in the appearance of cellulite, and Sofwave (latest clearance K250146, April 2025) is cleared for short-term improvement in the appearance of cellulite.

Thermage's listed side effects include mild-to-moderate pain during treatment, redness that usually resolves within 24 hours and swelling that usually resolves within 5 days but can last several weeks, and — infrequently — burns with blistering or scabbing and possible scarring.

Morpheus8 is InMode's RF microneedling applicator family, and it is cleared differently: its current clearance (K231790, decided July 20, 2023) covers use in dermatologic procedures where coagulation/contraction of soft tissue or hemostasis is needed, and the cleared text does not mention cellulite, wrinkles, acne scars or fat reduction.

That makes a Morpheus8 package sold "for cellulite" a use beyond the device's cleared wording — our Morpheus8 guide walks through the clearances — so ask any provider proposing it what the device is cleared for and what published evidence they can point to for cellulite specifically.

Emtone is another device name that appears in cellulite searches; our sources include no FDA clearance for cellulite for it, so ask for the exact device name and the FDA clearance summary behind any device a practice proposes.

Context for the whole RF category: a 2026 analysis of FDA's MAUDE database (reports from January 2013 to October 2025) found 114 RF microneedling reports covering 224 events, most often textural changes (25.0%), pigment changes (18.3%) and fat loss (11.6%) — shares of reported events, not incidence rates.

Most frequent RF microneedling complications reported to FDA

Share of 224 reported events, Jan 2013–Oct 2025 — not incidence rates

25.0%
18.3%
11.6%
6.3%
Textural changesPigment changesFat lossBurns

Source: 2026 Dermatologic Surgery analysis of FDA MAUDE reports

FDA safety communication on RF microneedling (October 2025)

On October 15, 2025, FDA warned that serious complications — burns, scarring, fat loss, disfigurement and nerve damage, sometimes needing surgical repair — have been reported with RF microneedling used for aesthetic skin procedures.

Find cellulite treatment providers near you

Compare Google ratings, reviews and posted prices at med spas in your city.

Biostimulators for cellulite: Sculptra and hyperdilute Radiesse

Sculptra (poly-L-lactic acid, Galderma) and Radiesse (calcium hydroxylapatite, Merz) are injectable "biostimulators" — Galderma says Sculptra works by stimulating the body's own collagen — and both are used off-label in body areas, the buttocks and thighs among them, despite labels that never mention cellulite.

Sculptra's FDA approvals are facial: HIV-associated facial fat loss (2004), shallow to deep nasolabial fold contour deficiencies and other facial wrinkles (2009), and fine lines and wrinkles in the cheek region (2023).

Its label states that safety and effectiveness have not been evaluated at sites, amounts or frequencies other than its approved uses — so buttocks, hips and thighs are off-label, and cellulite is not an approved use on any current US label.

The published evidence for Sculptra in the buttock area is thin: a 2020 review in Dermatologic Surgery called the literature sparse (Oxford level 4), and a 2023 systematic review found only 12 reports on filler buttock augmentation, described most as strongly biased, and warned that serious complications occur.

There is also no undo button: Sculptra cannot be dissolved with hyaluronidase the way a hyaluronic acid filler can, and its label lists nodule treatments such as massage, corticosteroids, saline injection, subcision and surgery.

Radiesse's approved uses are likewise specific: moderate to severe facial wrinkles and folds such as nasolabial folds (2006), facial fat loss in people with HIV (lipoatrophy), hand volume loss (2015), jawline contour for Radiesse (+) (2021) and, diluted 1:2 with saline, décolleté wrinkles in patients 22 and older (2026).

Hyperdilute Radiesse has exactly one approved use — that 1:2 saline dilution for décolleté wrinkles.

Every other hyperdilute use — thighs, buttocks, arms, abdomen, neck and knees — remains off-label.

A 2018 global consensus on diluted and hyperdiluted Radiesse for skin laxity — which describes use across the body, buttocks and upper legs included — calls the practice a "novel off-label use" and lists bruising, swelling, mild pain and induration among its adverse events.

Biostimulators and cellulite

ProductFDA-approved usesCellulite approvalBody areas
SculptraFacial only: HIV facial fat loss, nasolabial folds and facial wrinkles, cheek fine linesNoneButtocks, hips, thighs off-label
Hyperdilute RadiesseOne: diluted 1:2 with saline for décolleté wrinkles, patients 22 and olderNoneThighs, buttocks, arms, abdomen, neck, knees off-label

Our research found no FDA approval or clearance for cellulite for either product, and the studies we found cover buttock augmentation, not cellulite.

If you are offered either for cellulite, you are being offered an off-label use; our Sculptra and Radiesse guides cover what each label does cover.

Buttock filler injections carry serious risks

A 2023 systematic review of filler buttock augmentation warned that serious complications occur, and a 2020 Dermatologic Surgery review of buttock augmentation with fillers warns of injecting deep near the gluteal vessels and the sciatic nerve. These are off-label injections, not cleared or approved cellulite treatment.

How much cellulite treatment costs

We could not confirm a national average price for any in-office cellulite treatment in the sources this guide is built on, and we will not invent one — a page that quotes a firm national figure for Avéli, Cellfina or Resonic is guessing.

What is knowable in advance is the shape of the bill: practices set their own prices, and quotes differ because plans differ — the device, the area or areas treated, the number of visits and whether touch-ups are included.

When you collect quotes, ask each practice to state the device by name, whether the price is per visit, per area or a package, how many visits the plan assumes, and what a touch-up costs if you want one later.

On the tax side, IRS Publication 502 treats cosmetic procedures that improve appearance without promoting proper body function or treating disease as generally not deductible medical expenses, naming hair transplants and liposuction as examples.

Whether an exception could ever apply to your situation is a tax question — ask a tax professional, not a med spa's front desk.

Cellulite treatment results and how long they last

Every duration on this page is a data window from a clearance — how long study subjects were observed — not a promise for your skin.

Avéli's 2021 clearance described a temporary reduction in appearance, with clinical data through three months.

Cellfina's 2019 clearance states the longest data window of the group: long-term improvement, with data showing no significant reduction in benefit through five years.

Resonic's 2022 clearance covers long-term improvement with data up to 1 year, while Thermage FLX's cellulite wording is temporary improvement and Sofwave's is short-term improvement.

Clearance data windows for cellulite

How long study subjects were observed, not how long results last for you

3 months
1 year
5 years
Avéli (2021)Resonic (2022)Cellfina (2019)

Source: FDA 510(k) clearances K212399, K222629, K192185

AAD's patient guidance agrees that most cellulite results are temporary: it says radiofrequency gives a small, short-lived improvement, that endermologie results fade within about a month of stopping, and that some laser results last 6 months or more before dimpling returns.

None of the cellulite clearances we reviewed uses the word "permanent", so treat any treatment sold that way as a claim to press hard on.

Two reading rules when you compare numbers: keep each figure pinned to its device (five years is Cellfina's data window, not Avéli's), and remember that a data window describes observation, not a guaranteed individual result.

Finding cellulite treatment near you

The provider question comes before the price question.

AmSpa, the med spa trade association, treats injection of a prescription drug — botulinum toxin is its example — as the practice of medicine, which it says must be done by a physician, an independent-practice nurse practitioner or another licensed professional acting within their scope, under rules that vary by state.

AmSpa's general description of the common delegation model has nurse practitioners injecting under a collaborative agreement or full practice authority, and registered nurses injecting only with documented training after a patient exam and a treatment order from a physician or a delegated PA or NP — a pattern the association describes, and not a rule in every state.

Before booking, ask any practice you are considering: the exact device name and what its FDA clearance covers; which injectable, if any, and whether that use is on its label; who performs the procedure and with what training; how many visits the plan assumes; and what a touch-up costs.

Get the answers in writing.

A practice that cannot name a device's clearance or its supervision arrangement is a place to keep looking.

And keep the goal realistic: the cleared treatments aim at the appearance of cellulite, with data windows measured in months or years — a consultation with a licensed provider is where your own case gets assessed.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best cellulite treatment?

There is no ranking we can defend.

A 2015 review of 67 cellulite studies found most methodologically flawed and no clear evidence of good efficacy for any treatment.

The American Academy of Dermatology rates acoustic wave therapy, some laser treatments, subcision (Cellfina) and vacuum-assisted precise tissue release as having the best research support, and says fat-freezing, mesotherapy and supplements are not recommended for cellulite.

Which option, if any, suits you is a question for a licensed provider.

Is cellulite treatment permanent?

No treatment on this page is cleared as permanent.

The clearances describe temporary reduction (Avéli), long-term improvement with data through five years (Cellfina), long-term improvement with data up to one year (Resonic), temporary improvement (Thermage FLX) and short-term improvement (Sofwave).

None of those wordings promises a permanent change, and the observation windows describe how long subjects were followed, not a guarantee for any one person.

What happened to QWO for cellulite?

QWO (collagenase clostridium histolyticum-aaes) was an injectable FDA approved for cellulite on July 6, 2020.

On December 6, 2022, its maker Endo announced it would cease production and sale, citing market concerns about the extent and variability of bruising after initial treatment and the potential for prolonged skin discoloration.

It is not a cellulite treatment you can get today.

Does insurance cover cellulite treatment?

Our sources do not address insurance coverage for cellulite treatment — what they do address is the tax treatment.

IRS Publication 502 treats cosmetic procedures that only improve appearance, without promoting proper body function or treating disease, as generally not deductible medical expenses — hair transplants and liposuction are its named examples.

Whether any exception could apply to your situation is a tax question for a tax professional, and whether a specific plan pays anything is a question for that plan.

Is Morpheus8 FDA-cleared for cellulite?

No. Morpheus8's current 510(k) clearance (K231790, July 2023) covers dermatologic procedures where coagulation or contraction of soft tissue or hemostasis is needed, and the cleared text does not mention cellulite, wrinkles, acne scars or fat reduction, so cellulite is a use beyond the cleared wording.

FDA also warned in October 2025 that serious complications — burns, scarring, fat loss, disfigurement and nerve damage — have been reported with RF microneedling.

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.

  1. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  2. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  3. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  4. sec.gov · sec.gov
  5. Publication 502 (2025), Medical and Dental Expenses · irs.gov
  6. Red Light Therapy: Benefits, Side Effects & Uses · Cleveland Clinic
  7. Cellulite: an evidence-based review · Luebberding et al., Am J Clin Dermatol, 2015
  8. Cellulite treatments: What really works? · American Academy of Dermatology
  9. Cellulite Pathophysiology and Psychosocial Implications · Bass et al., Dermatol Surg, 2023
  10. What Are the Rules for Who Can Inject Neurotoxins? · American Med Spa Association
  11. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  12. sculptrausa.com · sculptrausa.com
  13. Safety and Efficiency of Minimally Invasive Buttock Augmentation: A Review · Atiyeh et al., Aesthetic Plast Surg, 2023
  14. api.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  15. radiesse.com · radiesse.com
  16. Global Consensus Guidelines for the Injection of Diluted and Hyperdiluted Calcium Hydroxylapatite for Skin Tightening · Goldie et al., Dermatol Surg, 2018
  17. Sculptra® · sculptrausa.com
  18. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  19. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  20. Thermage · thermage.com
  21. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  22. Potential Risks with Certain Uses of Radiofrequency Microneedling · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  23. Analysis of US Food and Drug Administration Data on Radiofrequency Microneedling Device Complications · Chou et al., Dermatol Surg, 2026

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.