Part of the Med spa guide guide · 12 articles

How to finance med spa treatments: CareCredit, Cherry, PatientFi, Affirm and more

Med spa financing is any arrangement that lets you pay for a treatment over time instead of all at once. The options fall into four groups: medical credit cards (CareCredit, Alphaeon Credit), installment loans (PatientFi), buy now, pay later plans (Affirm, and Cherry, which also powers Allē payment plans), and the installment or membership plans some chains run themselves. This page compares each program's published terms — APR, deferred interest and credit checks — with each figure dated.

6, 12, 18 or 24 monthsCareCredit promo windowsIts 'No Interest if Paid in Full' promotions (terms as of May 30, 2024)
32.99% APRMiss the promo payoffCareCredit's charge from the purchase date if the promo balance isn't paid in full (terms as of May 30, 2024)
0% to 35.99% APRCherry plans1–60 month terms, $35–$65,000, soft credit check (Cherry's stated terms)
0% to 36% APRAffirm ratesBased on credit; Pay in 4 is 0% APR (Affirm's stated terms)

Key takeaways

  • Deferred interest is not interest-free: if a CareCredit promo balance isn't paid in full in time, 32.99% is charged from the purchase date (terms as of May 30, 2024).
  • Cherry says it charges no deferred or retroactive interest, and a 0% offer holds for the full plan with on-time payments.
  • None of the lender materials reviewed publishes a minimum credit score; ask what kind of check a lender runs.
  • IRS Publication 502 (2025) says cosmetic procedures generally can't be counted as medical expenses, so most med spa work isn't HSA/FSA-eligible.
  • Financing is offered practice by practice, so ask which programs a med spa takes and get the terms in writing.

Your options: medical credit cards, installment loans, BNPL and in-house plans

Pay-over-time options for med spa work fall into four groups, and the groups behave differently. Medical credit cards are revolving credit lines aimed at health and wellness spending.

CareCredit, issued by Synchrony, says it is accepted at 285,000+ locations, with promotional financing on purchases of $200 or more within its network (read October 16, 2026).

The Alphaeon Credit card, issued by Comenity, a Bread Financial subsidiary, can only be used for certain elective procedures, according to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's May 2023 report on medical credit cards.

Installment loans are fixed loans paid back monthly.

PatientFi's disclosures page describes fixed-rate APRs that start at 6.99% (some disclosures say 3.99%) for borrowers with excellent credit who use autopay, alongside "zero interest" promotional plans that carry a catch covered below.

Buy now, pay later plans are set up at checkout.

Affirm says its rates run 0–36% APR based on credit, subject to an eligibility check, with a 0% APR Pay in 4 option and a possible down payment.

Cherry, which describes itself as a fintech platform rather than a lender, says its plans carry 0% to 35.99% APR on 1–60 month terms for amounts of $35 to $65,000, with a down payment due at checkout and no deferred or retroactive interest.

In-house and membership plans are the chains' own arrangements.

Milan Laser says it does not publish package prices online but gives personalized quotes, and offers installment payment plans with APRs it says start from 0%, possibly through third-party lenders.

Memberships spread the cost on a calendar instead: VIO Med Spa's ClubVIO "Signature" tier is $99 per month banked toward treatments, with $2 off each toxin unit and 10% off products and services, while Restore Hyper Wellness says its memberships carry a 3-month minimum commitment and then auto-renew monthly, with credits on most plans expiring 100 days after issuance.

The amounts can add up on multi-session plans.

LaserAway's pricing page (read October 16, 2026) listed laser hair removal at $99–$649 per treatment by area, in single sessions or packages of 3, 8 or 10, and CoolSculpting at $550 per treatment, noting that prices may vary by location.

Bills like those are where the pay-over-time question comes up — the treatment guides cover the pricing side, starting with CoolSculpting.

LaserAway's published face prices (read October 16, 2026)

TreatmentSingle treatmentIn a package
Clear + Brilliant$500$375 each in a 6-pack
Potenza RF microneedling$750$562.50 each in a 6-pack
SkinPen$400$300 each in a 6-pack
Hydrafacial$200$170 each in a 6-pack
Thermage FLX or XTherma$1,500$1,200 each for 2

Deferred interest vs true 0% APR

Deferred interest and true 0% APR can wear the same headline and cost very different amounts.

CareCredit's cardholder terms offer "No Interest if Paid in Full within 6, 12, 18 or 24 Months" promotions — and state that if the promotional balance is not paid in full within the promotional period, interest at 32.99% is charged to the account from the date of purchase.

The same terms put the card's standard purchase APR at 32.99% and its penalty APR at 39.99% (terms accurate as of May 30, 2024).

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau's May 2023 report on medical credit cards describes this structure as "springing" interest, on promotional periods of 6 to 18 months: if any balance remains at the end, all the interest that would have accrued since the original purchase date is charged.

The report found consumers paid $1 billion in deferred interest on healthcare purchases from 2018 to 2020, and put the APR of the typical medical credit card at 26.99%, against about 16% for general-purpose cards.

It also notes a 2013 CFPB consent order with GE Capital Retail Bank/CareCredit, dated December 10, 2013, that found significant confusion among patients that "deferred interest" meant interest-free.

26.99%APR of the typical medical credit cardCFPB, May 2023

Chain pages show how this reaches med spa bills.

LaserAway's pricing page (read October 16, 2026) used a 12-month deferred interest program as its financing example — no interest on the promotional balance if paid in full within the promotional period, "otherwise up to 32.99% APR" — for well-qualified borrowers only, subject to credit approval.

PatientFi's "zero interest" promotional plans work the same way, per its disclosures page: interest is charged during the promotional period and waived only if the full balance is paid before it ends; if not, the accrued promotional interest is not waived, and the remaining balance is amortized at the loan's fixed APR, with examples on that page using 32.99% APR.

True 0% plans behave differently.

Cherry says a 0% APR offer stays for the full plan as long as payments are on time, and that if an account becomes delinquent, interest may apply going forward but not retroactively.

Affirm's Pay in 4 option is 0% APR, per Affirm; its longer plans price between 0% and 36% APR based on credit.

Deferred interest

  • Used by CareCredit's promotions, PatientFi's "zero interest" plans and LaserAway's financing example
  • Interest is waived only if the full promotional balance is paid in the window
  • If any balance remains, interest is charged back to the purchase date

True 0% APR

  • Cherry says a 0% offer holds for the full plan with on-time payments
  • If a Cherry account becomes delinquent, interest may apply going forward, not retroactively
  • Affirm's Pay in 4 option is 0% APR
The deferred-interest trap

Nothing is forgiven up front on a deferred interest plan. If any balance remains when the promotional period ends, the interest for the whole period is charged at once, calculated from the original purchase date — the structure in CareCredit's terms and in the CFPB's report.

Soft vs hard credit checks

Whether applying affects your credit depends on the type of check a lender runs, and the companies' own materials say different things about it.

Cherry says applying involves a soft credit check that does not affect your credit score.

PatientFi advertises a soft credit check — that wording appears in its marketing, and its disclosures page, the document reviewed here, does not state the check type.

Affirm says its rates are subject to an eligibility check, without stating the type on the page reviewed here.

The CareCredit application terms reviewed for this page cover promotional, standard and penalty APRs but do not spell out the check type, and Alphaeon's current application materials could not be reviewed at all.

Approval is a separate matter from the check, and the programs that do publish pricing terms tie them to credit differently — where they tie them at all.

LaserAway's financing example describes its deferred interest program as being for well-qualified borrowers only, subject to credit approval.

PatientFi ties its lowest fixed APRs to excellent credit and autopay, and Affirm says its rates are based on credit.

Cherry publishes a 0% to 35.99% APR range for its plans; the pages reviewed do not say what sets an individual borrower's rate.

None of the materials reviewed publishes a minimum credit score, so the reliable move is to ask the specific lender — or read the credit agreement — before applying.

CareCredit, Cherry, PatientFi, Alphaeon Credit and Affirm compared

The three tables pull the five programs' own published terms together.

Read them as five different products rather than a ranking — a revolving credit line, installment loans and checkout plans are different kinds of credit — and note the dates: CareCredit's figures are its cardholder terms as of May 30, 2024, the Cherry, PatientFi and Affirm figures come from each company's site as read on October 16, 2026, and the Alphaeon entries come from the CFPB's May 2023 report because the company's own site would not render.

ProgramWhat it isAdvertised APR
CareCreditMedical credit card (Synchrony)Standard purchase APR 32.99%; penalty APR 39.99%
CherryFintech platform, not a lender (its own description)0% to 35.99%
PatientFiInstallment loansFixed APRs from 6.99% (some disclosures say 3.99%) with excellent credit and autopay; promo examples use 32.99%
Alphaeon CreditCredit card issued by Comenity (Bread Financial)Not confirmed
AffirmBuy now, pay later and monthly plans0% to 36%, based on credit
ProgramTermsDeferred interest?
CareCreditPromotions of 6, 12, 18 or 24 monthsYes — 32.99% from the purchase date if the promo balance isn't paid in full
Cherry1–60 monthsNo — no deferred or retroactive interest; a 0% offer holds if payments are on time
PatientFiPromo length not stated in the disclosures reviewedYes — promo interest is waived only if the balance is paid in full within the promo period
Alphaeon CreditNot statedNot confirmed
AffirmPay in 4; monthly plan lengths not stated on the page reviewedPay in 4 is 0% APR; not stated for monthly plans
ProgramCredit checkAmounts
CareCreditNot stated in the terms reviewedPromo financing on purchases of $200 or more; CareCredit says 285,000+ locations accept it
CherrySoft check, per Cherry$35 to $65,000; down payment at checkout
PatientFiAdvertised as a soft check (marketing wording)Not stated
Alphaeon CreditNot statedUsable only for certain elective procedures (CFPB, May 2023)
Affirm"Eligibility check" (type not stated)A down payment may be required

Entries marked "not stated" or "not confirmed" mean the company's materials reviewed for this page do not give the figure.

All of these terms can change, and the credit agreement you sign is the document that governs.

Is financing Botox a good idea?

No article can answer that for a specific person — it depends on the budget, the credit and the total price of the plan — but the published material supports a short list of things to work through before signing anything.

Start with the price side.

The figure that matters is the written quote in front of you.

The national figure worth knowing is an average, not a quote: the American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS) puts the average cost of botulinum toxin injections at $435, according to its latest statistics — an average fee reported by ASPS member plastic surgeons, not a med spa price and not a per-unit figure.

$435Average cost of botulinum toxin injectionsASPS member plastic surgeons' average fee; not a med spa price or a per-unit figure

Then the cost of the plan itself.

The section above is the part to read twice: with deferred interest, the same treatment can cost more than its quoted price if the promotional balance isn't cleared in the window.

The differences in the tables — deferred interest versus true 0%, the promotional window's length, the APR after it — are what decide the total paid for the same treatment.

And the tax side.

IRS Publication 502 (2025) says cosmetic procedures aimed at improving appearance generally can't be counted as medical expenses — its examples include face lifts, hair transplants, hair removal/electrolysis and liposuction — unless needed to fix a deformity relating to a congenital abnormality, an accident or trauma, or a disfiguring disease.

Cosmetic med spa treatments generally are therefore not HSA/FSA-eligible; whether any specific treatment qualifies is determined by the publication's rules, not by a spa's menu.

  • Is the promotional rate deferred interest or true 0% — and what happens to the promotional interest if the balance isn't paid off in the window?
  • What is the APR after the promotional period, and is there a penalty rate?
  • What is the total of all payments over the plan, in dollars, next to the price of paying up front?
  • Which company is actually lending the money, and what does its credit agreement say?
  • Is a down payment due at checkout, and when is the first payment due?

Nothing on that list says finance or don't finance.

It says the differences between these programs are concrete, dated and checkable — and that the checking happens before signing, not after.

Education, not financial advice

MedSpaStandard doesn't give financial, tax or medical advice, and this page is not a recommendation of any plan or lender. Figures here are each company's own published terms as of the dates shown, and lenders change rates and promotions.

How to find a med spa that offers financing near you

Financing is attached to the practice rather than the treatment, so the practical question is which programs a specific med spa has chosen to offer.

The chains show the range: SkinSpirit says it accepts CareCredit and Allē payment plans powered by Cherry (read October 16, 2026).

LaserAway's pricing page presents a deferred interest program as its financing example.

Milan Laser says it offers installment payment plans and gives personalized quotes rather than publishing package prices.

The manufacturer programs appear at practice level too: Allē says "Get treated now and pay over time with Allē Payment Plans powered by Cherry," and CareCredit says it is accepted at 285,000+ locations — a count that only matters, though, for the practices near you that take it.

Before booking, make the financing question part of the quote.

  • Which payment plans do you offer — CareCredit, Cherry, PatientFi, Allē payment plans, Affirm, or a house plan?
  • Does the plan cover the treatment being quoted — toxin units, a Kybella series, a laser package, a CoolSculpting plan?
  • Is the promotional rate deferred interest or true 0%, and what is the APR after the promotional period?
  • Who is the lender, and what is the total of payments over the plan?
  • Is there a down payment, and is there any cost to paying the plan off early?

Treat the answers like any other part of the quote — in writing, with the APR, the promotional period's end date and the payment schedule.

A treatment decision and a borrowing decision are separate choices; this page can only make the second one a documented one.

Frequently asked questions

Can you pay for Botox in installments?

Some practices offer installment plans through third-party programs.

CareCredit says it is accepted at 285,000+ locations, with promotional financing on purchases of $200 or more.

Cherry says its plans run from $35 to $65,000 on 1–60 month terms, and Allē describes its payment plans as powered by Cherry.

Programs are offered practice by practice, so ask which ones a med spa takes, and check whether a promotional rate is deferred interest before you sign.

Will applying for med spa financing affect my credit?

Cherry says applying involves a soft credit check that does not affect your credit score, and PatientFi advertises a soft credit check in its marketing.

The materials reviewed for this page do not state the check type for CareCredit, Alphaeon Credit or Affirm — Affirm describes only an "eligibility check" — so ask the lender what kind of check it runs before you apply.

Can I use HSA or FSA funds at a med spa?

Generally not for cosmetic work.

IRS Publication 502 (2025) says you generally can't include cosmetic procedures aimed at improving appearance as medical expenses — its examples include face lifts, hair transplants, hair removal/electrolysis and liposuction — unless needed to fix a deformity relating to a congenital abnormality, an accident or trauma, or a disfiguring disease.

For a specific treatment, check the publication itself or ask a tax professional.

What credit score do you need to finance a med spa treatment?

None of the companies' materials reviewed for this page publishes a minimum credit score.

PatientFi's disclosures tie its lowest fixed APRs — starting at 6.99%, with some disclosures saying 3.99% — to excellent credit and autopay.

Cherry says its plans price at 0% to 35.99% APR, and Affirm says its rates run 0% to 36% based on credit, subject to an eligibility check.

Ask a lender what you qualify for before committing.

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.

  1. About Us · milanlaser.com
  2. LaserAway Treatment Prices · laseraway.com
  3. Restore Hyper Wellness Membership Options · restore.com
  4. ClubVIO · viomedspa.com
  5. Frequently Asked Questions · skinspirit.com
  6. alle.com · alle.com
  7. Synchrony Bank · apply.syf.com
  8. Health and Wellness Credit Card · carecredit.com
  9. files.consumerfinance.gov · files.consumerfinance.gov
  10. Cherry Payment Plans · withcherry.com
  11. Cherry Help Center: Customer Service, FAQs & Support · withcherry.com
  12. Disclosures • PatientFi · patientfi.com
  13. How to use Affirm for flexible buy now pay later payment plans · affirm.com
  14. Publication 502 (2025), Medical and Dental Expenses · irs.gov
  15. Botulinum Toxin Cost · American Society of Plastic Surgeons

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.