Part of the skin tag removal guide · 2 articles

Skin Tag Removal: Doctor, Dermatologist or Med Spa?

Skin tags are harmless growths, and the removal methods the American Academy of Dermatology describes — freezing, electrodesiccation and snip excision — are written as dermatologist procedures, usually done in one visit. A med spa may also offer removal, but which professionals may perform it there is set by state law, and our research could not confirm the specifics. Any growth that has changed, or that you cannot identify, is the one AAD's guidance routes to a dermatologist.

3In-office methods listed by AADCryosurgery, electrodesiccation, snip excision
1Usual number of visitsAAD: usually one visit, without follow-up
NoneFDA-approved at-home removal productsFDA warning; 38 serious injuries from unapproved topical removers
RarelyInsurance for removal for looks aloneAAD: insurers treat it as cosmetic

Key takeaways

  • AAD describes three in-office methods: cryosurgery, electrodesiccation and snip excision, usually in one visit.
  • Who may remove skin tags at a med spa is set by state law; ask who performs it and under whose license.
  • A growth that has grown, itched or changed, or that you cannot identify, is one AAD routes to a dermatologist.
  • AAD says insurers treat removal for looks alone as cosmetic and rarely cover it.
  • FDA has not approved any at-home mole or skin tag removal product and warns people not to use them.

Who can remove skin tags?

The methods the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) describes for removing skin tags — cryosurgery, electrodesiccation and snip excision — are written as dermatologist procedures, done in an office.

Med spas are a separate question.

A med spa may offer skin tag removal, but which professionals may perform it there — for example, whether an RN, PA, NP or esthetician may perform cautery or snip excision — is set by state law, and our research could not confirm what any state allows.

The wider frame is state-drawn too: whether a med spa is regulated as a medical practice, and who may own it, is determined by each state's medical-practice, nursing and corporate-practice rules — our med spa laws by state guide covers who can perform treatments and who must supervise whom.

Because the rules vary by state, the useful step is to ask any office you are considering two questions, dermatologist or med spa alike: who will perform the procedure, and under whose license or supervision.

No at-home remover is FDA-approved

FDA has not approved any at-home mole or skin tag removal product and warns people not to use them. FDA researchers documented 38 serious injuries from unapproved topical removers — burns, ulceration and permanent scarring — including 14 facial injuries and 4 near the eye.

When is a dermatologist needed?

AAD says a skin tag only needs removing if it becomes irritated or bleeds, affects eyesight on an eyelid, or becomes painful; a tag that meets none of those descriptions is a cosmetic decision, not a medical one.

Other situations point to a dermatologist.

AAD says suddenly developing many skin tags, while rare, can be a sign of something going on inside the body and warrants seeing a dermatologist.

Growths can also be mistaken for warts or skin cancer.

The mistake matters most when a growth is not a skin tag at all.

AAD warns that a mole that grows, itches or changes could be skin cancer, and that removing a cancer at home can leave microscopic cancer cells behind and delay diagnosis.

AAD's guidance is that a dermatologist can determine whether a growth is skin cancer.

When AAD says a tag needs removing

  • It becomes irritated or bleeds
  • It affects eyesight on an eyelid
  • It becomes painful
  • Otherwise, removal is a cosmetic decision

When AAD points to a dermatologist

  • Suddenly developing many skin tags
  • A mole that grows, itches or changes
  • A growth that could be a wart or skin cancer

On biopsies specifically, our research did not find a source that sets a rule for when a skin growth needs one.

What AAD does say, generally, is that a changing, growing or uncertain lesion should be evaluated by a dermatologist.

A licensed provider can examine the growth and tell you whether a biopsy is needed in your case.

Skin tag removal methods at a med spa

The three methods AAD lists are the ones to ask about in any setting.

Cryosurgery freezes the tag — for example, with liquid nitrogen.

Electrodesiccation uses a tiny needle to zap the tag, which destroys it; the scab that forms heals in 1 to 3 weeks.

Snip excision is the surgical option: after the area is numbed, the tag is cut off with sterile scissors or a blade.

AAD says removal is usually done in one visit, without follow-up.

The three methods AAD lists

MethodHow it worksHealing
CryosurgeryFreezes the tag, for example with liquid nitrogenNot specified by AAD
ElectrodesiccationA tiny needle zaps the tag, which destroys itScab heals in 1 to 3 weeks
Snip excisionAfter numbing, the tag is cut off with sterile scissors or a bladeNot specified by AAD

Laser is not on AAD's list of skin tag removal methods.

Some FDA-cleared lasers do list skin tags among the treatable benign lesions in their labeling — the Candela GentleMax 1064 nm clearance (K201111) is one example.

Cleared is the operative word: these lasers are FDA-cleared devices, not FDA-approved ones.

If a practice offers laser removal, ask which device it uses and what that device's labeling covers.

Whichever method a practice proposes, the setting does not change the questions: which method suits the tag's size and location, who performs it, and whether the growth will be examined first.

For how each method works in detail, healing and risks, see our skin tag removal guide.

Find skin tag removal providers near you

Compare Google ratings, reviews and posted prices at med spas in your city.

How prices differ between a dermatologist and a med spa

The sourced answer here is about insurance, not price lists.

AAD says insurers consider removing a skin tag for looks alone a cosmetic treatment, and that insurance rarely covers the cost of cosmetic treatments.

We did not find a source that sets out when insurers do contribute, so whether a plan pays anything toward your removal is a question for the insurer and the office.

On the prices themselves, we could not confirm a national average for skin tag removal, or how offices commonly structure the charge — per tag, per visit or another way.

What the sources say

  • Insurers consider removal for looks alone cosmetic
  • Insurance rarely covers cosmetic treatments

What we could not confirm

  • A national average price
  • How offices structure the charge
  • Whether dermatologists or med spas charge less

We also did not find a source comparing what dermatology offices and med spas charge for the same removal, so we cannot tell you which setting is cheaper.

Quotes from the offices near you are the practical comparison, and the questions to ask before choosing a med spa are worth working through before you book — starting with what the price includes and whether any part can be billed to insurance.

Frequently asked questions

Can a med spa remove skin tags?

A med spa may offer skin tag removal, but which professionals may perform it there — for example, whether an RN, PA, NP or esthetician may perform cautery or snip excision — depends on state law, and our research could not confirm what any state allows.

The three removal methods the American Academy of Dermatology lists are written as dermatologist procedures.

Before booking anywhere, ask who will perform the procedure and under whose license or supervision.

Should a dermatologist remove my skin tag?

The American Academy of Dermatology says a skin tag needs removing only if it becomes irritated or bleeds, affects eyesight on an eyelid, or becomes painful.

Its guidance describes dermatologists performing the three removal methods, and says a dermatologist can determine whether a growth is skin cancer.

If a growth has grown, itched or changed, or you are not sure what it is, that is the situation AAD's guidance routes to a dermatologist.

Is skin tag removal covered by insurance?

The American Academy of Dermatology says insurers consider removing a skin tag for looks alone a cosmetic treatment, and that insurance rarely covers the cost of cosmetic treatments.

We did not find a source that sets out when insurers do contribute toward removal, so whether a plan pays anything is a question for the insurer and the office.

Ask what the procedure costs and what the price includes before booking.

Do med spas charge less than dermatologists for skin tag removal?

We found no source comparing prices between the two settings, and we could not confirm a national average price for skin tag removal or how offices structure the charge.

What is sourced is the insurance side: the American Academy of Dermatology says insurers consider removal for looks alone cosmetic, and rarely cover cosmetic treatments.

Quotes from offices near you are the practical comparison — ask what the price includes.

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.

  1. Skin tags: Why they develop, and how to remove them · American Academy of Dermatology
  2. 5 reasons to see a dermatologist for mole, skin tag removal · American Academy of Dermatology
  3. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  4. Serious Skin Injuries Following Exposure to Unapproved Mole and Skin Tag Removers · Konkel et al., J Clin Aesthet Dermatol, 2023
  5. What Is Required of a Medical Spa's Good Faith Exams? · American Med Spa Association

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.