Part of Laser Hair Removal statistics

Laser Hair Removal Demographics Statistics 2026

In ASPS's 2024 data, 84% of combined laser skin treatments (laser hair removal, IPL, tattoo removal, leg veins) were performed on women (2,623,375) and 16% on men (488,681).

Key statistics

  • In ASPS's 2024 data, 84% of combined laser skin treatments (laser hair removal, IPL, tattoo removal, leg veins) were performed on women (2,623,375) and 16% on men (488,681). [1]
  • In ASPS's 2020 data (the latest laser-hair-removal-specific breakdown), 84% of laser hair removal procedures were on women (635,618) and 16% on men (122,190). [2]
  • In ASPS's 2020 data, laser hair removal patients by age were: 13-19, 6% (47,850); 20-29, 22% (165,638); 30-39, 29% (221,432); 40-54, 36% (274,321); 55-69, 6% (48,567); none reported for 70+. [2]
  • In ASPS's 2024 data, combined laser skin treatments by patient age were: 19 and under 7% (211,317); 20-29, 20% (631,318); 30-39, 29% (917,654); 40-54, 35% (1,093,794); 55-69, 8% (257,973); 70+ not reported. [1]
  • In ASPS's 2024 regional data, the Mountain/Pacific region (Region 5: AZ, CO, ID, MT, NV, NM, UT, WY, AK, CA, HI, OR, WA) accounted for 41% of combined laser skin treatments, 44% of nonsurgical skin tightening and 36% of noninvasive fat reduction. [1]

Who gets laser hair removal?

In ASPS's 2024 data, 84% of combined laser skin treatments (laser hair removal, IPL, tattoo removal, leg veins) were performed on women (2,623,375) and 16% on men (488,681). [1]

In ASPS's 2020 data (the latest laser-hair-removal-specific breakdown), 84% of laser hair removal procedures were on women (635,618) and 16% on men (122,190). [2]

In ASPS's 2020 data, laser hair removal patients by age were: 13-19, 6% (47,850); 20-29, 22% (165,638); 30-39, 29% (221,432); 40-54, 36% (274,321); 55-69, 6% (48,567); none reported for 70+. [2]

In ASPS's 2024 data, combined laser skin treatments by patient age were: 19 and under 7% (211,317); 20-29, 20% (631,318); 30-39, 29% (917,654); 40-54, 35% (1,093,794); 55-69, 8% (257,973); 70+ not reported. [1]

In ASPS's 2024 regional data, the Mountain/Pacific region (Region 5: AZ, CO, ID, MT, NV, NM, UT, WY, AK, CA, HI, OR, WA) accounted for 41% of combined laser skin treatments, 44% of nonsurgical skin tightening and 36% of noninvasive fat reduction. [1]

In the ASDS 2023 Consumer Survey (3,503 consumers), laser hair removal topped the list of procedures being considered at 65%, followed by laser/energy devices for skin tightening and wrinkles (53%) and body sculpting (52%). [3]

Find laser hair removal providers near you

Compare Google ratings, reviews and posted prices at med spas in your city.

What published research says

These numbers come from outside sources, not our directory; each one links to its source below.

  • ASPS estimates 3,112,056 'skin treatment using lasers' procedures in 2024 (flat vs 3,101,772 in 2023); this single ASPS category combines laser hair removal, IPL, laser tattoo removal and laser treatment of leg veins. [1]
  • ASPS reported 3,101,772 combined laser skin treatments (laser hair removal, IPL, laser tattoo removal, laser leg-vein treatment) in 2023, up 6% from 2,915,199 in 2022. [4]
  • The last ASPS report with a separate laser hair removal count is the 2020 report: 757,808 laser hair removal procedures in 2020 (pandemic year, down 28% from 1,055,456 in 2019). [2]
  • ASPS's average surgeon/physician fees for 2023 were $697 for combined laser skin treatments (laser hair removal, IPL, tattoo removal, leg veins), up from $582 in 2022. [4]
  • ASPS's 2024 statistics are national estimates extrapolated from about 1,000 survey responses by ASPS member plastic surgeons plus CosmetAssure data (95% confidence, +/-4.62% margin of error); minimally invasive counts also include data from non-member dermatologists and otolaryngologists. [1]

What these numbers can't tell you

  • Counts are Google Maps listings we classify as med spas, so they include dermatology and plastic surgery practices that offer med spa treatments and exclude spas without a Google listing.
  • A treatment counts when the spa's Google listing or website names it, so a spa with an outdated menu can be over- or under-counted.
  • We hold no patient records: every figure describes providers, their listings and their Google reviews, not who gets treated.

Frequently asked questions

Who gets laser hair removal?

In ASPS's 2024 data, 84% of combined laser skin treatments (laser hair removal, IPL, tattoo removal, leg veins) were performed on women (2,623,375) and 16% on men (488,681).

Sources and methodology

Our data. October 2026 snapshot of 53,215 US med spa Google listings and their websites. How we build these numbers

  1. plasticsurgery.org · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
  2. plasticsurgery.org · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
  3. asds.net · asds.net
  4. plasticsurgery.org · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
Cite this page

MedSpaStandard. (2026, October 30). Laser Hair Removal Demographics Statistics 2026. https://medspastandard.com/statistics/laser-hair-removal/demographics/

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.