Part of the Botox guide · 10 articles

Botox for wrinkles: which lines it treats and which it does not

Yes — Botox for wrinkles works on the lines that muscle movement makes. Botox Cosmetic (onabotulinumtoxinA) is FDA-approved in adults for four cosmetic areas: the frown lines between the brows, crow's feet, forehead lines and the vertical platysma bands in the neck. It relaxes the muscle under the line rather than filling it, so a line that is deep even at rest may benefit from a filler too.

FourLabeled wrinkle areasBotox Cosmetic, adults: frown lines, crow's feet, forehead lines, platysma bands
3 to 4 monthsFrown-line durationBotox Cosmetic label, glabellar lines
1 to 2 daysMuscle effect beginsBotox Cosmetic label, frown-line area
80%Rated none/mild at day 30of 405 adults in the frown-line trials

Key takeaways

  • Botox works on dynamic wrinkles, the lines muscle movement makes, by relaxing the muscle rather than filling the line.
  • The Botox Cosmetic label names four cosmetic areas in adults: frown lines, crow's feet, forehead lines and platysma bands.
  • Every other cosmetic area, including brow lifts and lip lines, is off-label.
  • Lines that are deep even at rest may benefit from adding a filler.
  • The CDC advises a licensed, trained provider using product from an authorized source.

Dynamic vs. static wrinkles: which does Botox treat?

For Botox, the distinction that matters is between two types of line.

Dynamic wrinkles are the lines that appear when a muscle contracts — frowning or smiling.

Cleveland Clinic describes Botox as a treatment for these muscle-driven lines.

Static wrinkles are the lines still present when the face is at rest.

Botox Cosmetic's effect is a partial, localized reduction in muscle activity: injected into the muscle, it blocks acetylcholine release at nerve endings by cleaving the protein SNAP-25, and the label explains that reinnervation slowly reverses the effect.

Because the drug changes muscle activity rather than adding volume, Cleveland Clinic notes that patients whose wrinkles are present and deep at rest may benefit from adding a filler injection (in addition to Botox) to get the best and longest-lasting result.

For what a session involves, what it costs and how to vet a provider, start with the Botox guide.

Dynamic wrinkles

  • Appear when a muscle contracts, such as frowning or smiling
  • What Botox treats, per Cleveland Clinic
  • Botox reduces the muscle activity behind them

Static wrinkles

  • Still present when the face is at rest
  • Botox does not add volume
  • Deep lines at rest may benefit from adding a filler

Which lines respond best to Botox?

The Botox Cosmetic label names four cosmetic areas in adults: moderate to severe glabellar lines (the frown lines between the brows), lateral canthal lines (crow's feet), forehead lines and platysma bands (the vertical bands in the neck).

No other cosmetic area is on the label.

The approvals arrived in stages: crow's feet on September 11, 2013, forehead lines on October 2, 2017, and the platysma indication on October 18, 2024 — the only US neurotoxin currently labeled for neck bands.

In the glabellar-line trials behind the label — 405 adults given a single 20-unit dose — investigators rated the lines none or mild at maximum frown for 74% at day 7, 80% at day 30, 70% at day 60, 48% at day 90 and 25% at day 120.

Those are trial averages for the group, not a prediction for any one person.

Frown lines rated none or mild at maximum frown

Botox Cosmetic glabellar-line trials, 405 adults, single 20-unit dose

74%
80%
70%
48%
25%
Day 7Day 30Day 60Day 90Day 120

Source: Botox Cosmetic label; placebo 2–6%

Responses also differed across the trial group.

Exploratory analyses found day-30 responder rates of 85% among 334 women versus 59% among 71 men, and responses appeared lower in adults 65 and older; these were exploratory looks at the data, not separate dosing rules.

Every cosmetic area outside those four is off-label.

Cleveland Clinic states that using botulinum toxin to elevate the eyebrows (a "chemical brow lift") and to treat lip lines and muscle laxity in the neck are off-label uses, and lists brow shaping, raising the corners of the mouth, lip creases and chin softening among the off-label uses it offers. (On the neck, the labeled use is only the vertical platysma bands approved above — broader neck laxity is not on the label.) Off-label, in this context, means the area is not on any current US label for the product.

Where the label does state doses for the four areas, they are set out in our Botox areas guide.

The label landscape also differs by brand: Xeomin's current aesthetic label covers the same three upper-face areas, and Dysport's US cosmetic indication is limited to glabellar lines in adults younger than 65.

Cosmetic wrinkle areas on each US label

ProductFrown linesCrow's feetForehead linesPlatysma bands
Botox CosmeticYesYesYesYes
XeominYesYesYesNo
DysportYes, adults under 65NoNoNo

When does a filler or skin treatment work better than Botox?

The muscle drug and the filler do different jobs, so the question is what the line is made of.

Botox treats the dynamic component — the contraction that creases the skin.

When a line is present and deep at rest, Cleveland Clinic says patients may benefit from adding a filler injection (in addition to Botox) for the best and longest-lasting result.

Fillers are also regulated differently.

FDA regulates dermal fillers as medical device implants — not drugs — with approval for adults over 21 for specific uses such as moderate to severe facial wrinkles and folds and augmentation of the lips, cheeks, chin and back of the hand.

How long a filler lasts depends on the filler material and where it is injected, and absorbable fillers are temporary and may need repeat treatment.

Skin treatments are a different family again, and which one fits is a question about the line and the skin around it.

Our all wrinkle treatments guide starts from the wrinkle and routes to the treatments that address it, Botox included.

The filler risk FDA calls most concerning

FDA warns that the most concerning risk of dermal fillers is unintentional injection into a blood vessel, which can cause tissue death, vision problems including blindness, or stroke. That warning is about fillers; the boxed warning on the Botox Cosmetic label concerns a different risk — spread of toxin effect — described in the next section.

Find Botox providers near you

Compare Google ratings, reviews and posted prices at med spas in your city.

What results can you expect from Botox for wrinkles?

Onset: the label says muscle relaxation in the frown-line area typically begins 1 to 2 days after injection and increases in intensity during the first week.

Duration: the label gives 3 to 4 months for glabellar lines — the frown-line figure — and the effect fades gradually rather than switching off, which is what the trial ratings falling from day 30 to day 120 measure.

The American Academy of Dermatology likewise says "the improvements last about 3 to 4 months — and sometimes longer." The fade, the retreatment interval and what changes duration are the subject of our guide to how long Botox lasts.

What else shows up?

In the trials, the most common adverse reactions were area-specific: eyelid ptosis (a drooping eyelid) in 3% of the frown-line group versus 0% on placebo, eyelid swelling in 1% of the crow's-feet group, and headache in 9% versus 5% on placebo with brow ptosis in 2% in the forehead-line trials.

The label says adverse reactions generally occur within the first week and, while often transient, may last several months or longer.

The label also states that there have been no definitive serious adverse event reports of distant spread of toxin effect with dermatologic use at specific labeled doses — 20 units for frown lines, 24 units for crow's feet, 40 units for forehead plus frown lines, and 44 or 64 units combined.

That statement does not cover off-label areas or higher doses.

Most common adverse reactions in the Botox Cosmetic trials

Trial areaReactionBotox CosmeticPlacebo
Frown linesEyelid ptosis3%0%
Crow's feetEyelid swelling1%Not stated
Forehead linesHeadache9%5%
Forehead linesBrow ptosis2%Not stated
The boxed warning: distant spread of toxin effect

Botox Cosmetic carries an FDA boxed warning: effects of botulinum toxin products may spread from the injection area and cause symptoms such as generalized weakness, double vision, drooping eyelids, and swallowing or breathing difficulty, hours to weeks after injection. Swallowing and breathing problems can be life threatening, and there have been reports of death.

How to find a Botox provider near you

The CDC advises getting botulinum toxin injections only from a licensed, trained provider using product from an authorized source.

That advice is not abstract: in April 2024 the FDA warned that counterfeit Botox had been given to consumers for cosmetic purposes in multiple states, with adverse events including hospitalizations, and traced the incidents to injections by licensed and unlicensed individuals and/or in non-medical or unlicensed settings, with product apparently bought from unlicensed sources.

1889U.S. License number on a genuine Botox Cosmetic vial and cartonBotox Cosmetic label

The label gives you two concrete checks.

Genuine Botox Cosmetic shows U.S. License number 1889 on the vial and carton, and the label says not to use it — and to contact AbbVie — if that number is missing or the tamper-evident features look broken.

Beyond that, the practical test of a provider is the consultation: whether they map which of your lines are dynamic, which are deep at rest, and where a treatment other than toxin would do the work.

For credentials, red flags and the questions to ask, our how to choose a med spa guide goes deep.

Frequently asked questions

Is Botox approved for under-eye wrinkles?

No. The Botox Cosmetic label names four cosmetic areas in adults: frown lines, crow's feet, forehead lines and platysma bands.

No other cosmetic area is on the label.

The crow's-feet approval covers the lateral canthal lines at the outer corners of the eyes; the area under the eye itself is not a labeled treatment site, so treating under-eye lines with Botox is off-label.

A licensed provider can tell you how they assess that area and what they would advise.

Can Botox prevent wrinkles?

The evidence is very limited.

The most-cited support is a study of a single pair of identical twins: after 13 years of regular Botox treatment, the treated twin showed no visible imprinted forehead or frown lines at rest, while the minimally treated twin did.

That is one case comparison, not a trial, and it cannot show what Botox would do for anyone else.

Treat preventative Botox as something to discuss with a licensed provider, not a proven effect.

Does Botox work as well for men?

The frown-line trials behind the label included 334 women and 71 men.

In exploratory analyses, 85% of the women were day-30 responders versus 59% of the men, and responses appeared lower in adults 65 and older.

These are exploratory looks at trial data, not a separate study of men, and they describe the labeled frown-line area only.

Is Botox approved for neck bands?

Yes — for platysma bands.

On October 18, 2024, the FDA approved Botox Cosmetic for moderate to severe platysma bands, the vertical bands in the neck, making it the only US neurotoxin currently labeled for neck bands.

Other toxins have narrower aesthetic labels: Xeomin's covers the three upper-face areas, and Dysport's cosmetic indication is limited to glabellar lines in adults younger than 65.

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.

  1. BOTOX COSMETIC- onabotulinumtoxina injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution · DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine
  2. Drugs@FDA: FDA-Approved Drugs · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  3. DYSPORT- botulinum toxin type a injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution · DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine
  4. XEOMIN- incobotulinumtoxina injection, powder, lyophilized, for solution · DailyMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine
  5. Counterfeit Version of Botox Found in Multiple States · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  6. cdc.gov · CDC
  7. Botulinum toxin therapy: Overview · American Academy of Dermatology
  8. Neuromodulators (Botox/Dysport/Xeomin): Plastic Surgery · Cleveland Clinic
  9. Dermal Fillers (Soft Tissue Fillers) · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  10. Long-term effects of botulinum toxin type A (Botox) on facial lines: a comparison in identical twins · Binder, Arch Facial Plast Surg, 2006

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.