Part of the Juvederm guide · 4 articles

Juvederm Voluma for Cheeks and Chin

Juvéderm Voluma XC is a hyaluronic acid filler from Allergan, and one of six fillers in its Juvéderm collection. The FDA has approved it for three areas of the face: the cheeks (2013), the chin (2020) and the temples (2023). This page explains what Voluma treats, how long Allergan says results last, and what it costs.

Cheeks, chin, templesFDA-approved areasVoluma XC, 2013 / 2020 / 2023
Up to 2 yearsCheeks: how longAllergan claim, with optimal treatment
Up to 1 yearChin: how longAllergan claim, with optimal treatment
$600–$1,400Juvéderm price rangeWhole Juvéderm line, Allergan's figure

Key takeaways

  • Voluma XC is a hyaluronic acid filler approved for the cheeks (2013), chin (2020) and temples (2023).
  • Lips, under-eyes, nose and jawline are not on Voluma's current US label.
  • Allergan's duration figures are maximums "with optimal treatment," not averages or promises.
  • There is no confirmed Voluma-specific national price, and health insurance does not cover dermal fillers.

What does Juvéderm Voluma treat?

Juvéderm Voluma XC is one of six hyaluronic acid fillers in Allergan's Juvéderm collection, which Allergan describes as covering cheeks, chin, temples, smile lines, lips, under-eyes and jawline, each product for its own labeled areas.

Hyaluronic acid is a sugar that the FDA says is naturally present in skin; the HA used in fillers comes from bacteria or rooster combs and is often chemically crosslinked so it lasts longer.

In the US, dermal fillers are regulated as medical devices that the FDA approves through premarket approval.

Voluma holds three approvals: on October 22, 2013, deep injection for cheek augmentation to correct age-related midface volume deficit in adults over the age of 21; on June 12, 2020, chin augmentation to improve the chin profile; and on October 6, 2023, injection to augment the temple region for moderate to severe temple hollowing, also in adults over 21.

The FDA says fillers are approved for adults over 21 for specific uses, with each product's label setting the exact age.

Voluma XC's three FDA approvals

AreaApprovedSafety not studied in patients
CheeksOctober 22, 2013Under 35 or over 65
ChinJune 12, 2020Under 22 or over 80
TemplesOctober 6, 2023Under 32 or over 82

Every other use — the lips, the under-eyes, the nose, the jawline — is not on Voluma's current US label, and using a filler outside its approved indications is called off-label.

Allergan's important safety information adds that Voluma's safety was not studied in patients under 35 or over 65 for cheeks, under 22 or over 80 for chin, and under 32 or over 82 for temples.

Our Juvederm guide covers the rest of the collection, product by product.

The most concerning filler risk

The FDA calls unintentional injection into a blood vessel the most concerning filler risk: it is rare, but it can cause tissue death (necrosis), vision problems including blindness, and stroke, and the damage may be permanent. The FDA tells patients to seek immediate medical attention for unusual pain, vision changes, a white, gray or blue appearance of skin near the injection site, or any signs of stroke during or shortly after filler injection.

Juvéderm Voluma for cheeks

The cheek approval is Voluma's oldest, from October 22, 2013, and its wording is specific: deep (subcutaneous and/or supraperiosteal) injection — under the skin and/or on the surface of the cheekbone — for cheek augmentation to correct age-related volume deficit in the midface, in adults over 21.

Allergan says Juvéderm results are visible immediately after treatment and that the products are injected with a needle or a cannula.

For duration, Allergan's stated maximum for the cheeks is up to 2 years with optimal treatment — the maker's own claim about a maximum, not an average and not a promise for any one person.

Side effects in the Voluma XC cheek study, as Allergan reports them, were moderate and generally lasted 2 to 4 weeks; the most common were tenderness, swelling, firmness, lumps/bumps, bruising, pain, redness, discoloration and itching.

Allergan also notes that Voluma's safety was not studied in patients under 35 or over 65 for cheek augmentation.

For the cheek area as a whole — the other approved products and what a session involves — see our cheek filler overview.

2–4 weeksHow long common side effects generally lasted in the Voluma XC cheek studyAllergan; side effects were moderate

Juvéderm Voluma for the chin

On June 12, 2020, Voluma was approved for chin augmentation to improve the chin profile, which made the chin its second labeled area.

Allergan's stated maximum duration for the chin is up to 1 year with optimal treatment — shorter than the cheek figure, and again the maker's own claim.

The indication covers the chin profile itself; any other use in the area is not on Voluma's label.

Allergan notes that Voluma's safety was not studied in patients under 22 or over 80 for chin augmentation.

For the chin area as a whole — including the other products approved there — see our chin filler guide.

How long does Juvéderm Voluma last?

Allergan's stated maximums, each hedged with the maker's phrase "with optimal treatment," are: cheeks up to 2 years, chin up to 1 year and temples up to 13 months.

These are the manufacturer's own maximum-duration claims, published on its consumer site.

They are not averages, and they are not a prediction for any individual.

The FDA's benchmark is broader: its general estimate for hyaluronic acid fillers as a material is that effects last approximately 6 to 12 months.

The two sets of numbers are not like-for-like — the FDA figure is a class-level estimate for HA fillers, while Allergan's are per-product maximums for Voluma in each labeled area — so we give you both rather than picking one.

None of these figures tells you what your results will do.

That is a question for the licensed provider who examines and treats you, and it is a fair question to ask before you book.

How much does Juvéderm Voluma cost?

We could not confirm a Voluma-specific national price, so we won't invent one.

The closest confirmed figures are broader than Voluma.

Allergan's consumer site says Juvéderm treatment "can range from $600–$1,400", varying by product and provider — a range for the whole Juvéderm line, attributed to the maker.

The American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS) lists an average cost of $715 for hyaluronic acid fillers.

That number is the average fee reported by ASPS member plastic surgeons — not med spa prices — and the ASPS page does not state the data year.

The two figures come from different sources; neither is a quote for your treatment.

$715Average cost of hyaluronic acid fillersASPS; fees reported by member plastic surgeons, not med spa prices; data year not stated

What moves the price?

ASPS says dermal filler cost varies with the injector's expertise and qualifications, the type of procedure, the time and effort required and the geographic location of the office.

Health insurance does not cover dermal fillers.

Allergan's Allē rewards program gives 100 points = $10 toward qualifying treatments, including Juvéderm, per the program's terms.

For a real number, ask the providers you are considering what they charge for Voluma in the area you have in mind.

Frequently asked questions

Is Juvéderm Voluma FDA-approved?

Yes.

Dermal fillers in the US are regulated as medical devices that the FDA approves through premarket approval.

Juvéderm Voluma XC was approved for cheek augmentation on October 22, 2013, for chin augmentation on June 12, 2020, and for temple hollowing on October 6, 2023.

Uses outside those three areas are not on Voluma's current US label.

How long does Juvéderm Voluma last in the cheeks?

Allergan's stated maximum for the cheeks is up to 2 years with optimal treatment — a manufacturer claim, not an average.

The FDA's general estimate for hyaluronic acid fillers as a material is approximately 6 to 12 months.

What your own results do is a question for the provider who treats you.

How much does Juvéderm Voluma cost?

We could not confirm a Voluma-specific price.

Allergan's consumer site says Juvéderm treatment "can range from $600–$1,400" varying by product and provider, and ASPS lists an average of $715 for hyaluronic acid fillers — fees its member plastic surgeons report, not med spa prices.

Health insurance does not cover dermal fillers, so ask providers for quotes.

What age is Juvéderm Voluma approved for?

The FDA says dermal fillers are approved for adults over 21 for specific uses, with each product label setting the exact age; Voluma's cheek and temple approvals specify adults over the age of 21.

Allergan also notes its safety studies did not cover every age: safety was not studied under 35 or over 65 for cheeks, under 22 or over 80 for chin, and under 32 or over 82 for temples.

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.

  1. Dermal Fillers (Soft Tissue Fillers) · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  2. FDA-Approved Dermal Fillers · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  3. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  4. How Juvéderm® Fillers Work · juvederm.com
  5. How Juvéderm® Fillers Work · juvederm.com
  6. JUVÉDERM® Dermal Fillers | Restore Volume & Contour · juvederm.com
  7. Dermal Fillers Cost · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
  8. FAQs · mykybella.com

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.