Key takeaways
- There is no single national filler price: Allergan gives a $600–$1,400 Juvéderm range, and ASPS reports surgeon averages, not med spa prices.
- A syringe is not always 1 mL, and a "half syringe" is a clinic pricing practice, not a labeled product size.
- No label or professional body sets a standard number of syringes per face area.
- Health insurance does not cover dermal fillers, per ASPS.
- FDA warns against unapproved Juvederm Ultra 2, 3 and 4, needle-free pens, and buying filler online.
How much does one syringe of filler cost?
The two national sources for filler prices in this guide are not med spa prices per syringe, and it matters what each one covers.
Allergan says Juvéderm treatment can range from $600 to $1,400 depending on the products chosen and the provider; that is the manufacturer's own range, and Allergan does not define it as a per-syringe price.
ASPS, the plastic surgeons' society, reports average costs of $715 for hyaluronic acid fillers, $901 for non-hyaluronic acid fillers such as Radiesse, Sculptra and Bellafill, and $743 for lip augmentation with filler.
Those are average fees reported by ASPS member plastic surgeons, not med spa prices, and ASPS's page does not state the data year or whether each fee is per syringe or per procedure.
ASPS average filler fees
Average fees reported by ASPS member plastic surgeons; data year not stated
Source: ASPS dermal filler cost page
There is no newer national fee we can point to either: ASPS's 2025 Procedural Statistics release publishes no procedure counts or average fees for minimally invasive treatments, only the five most common treatments by volume.
RealSelf's cost pages, another price reference, could not be read when we checked on October 16, 2026, so no RealSelf averages appear in this guide.
That leaves the office's own quote as the number that matters.
The unit has a wrinkle worth knowing before you compare quotes: a syringe is not always 1 mL.
Revanesse Versa, Versa+ and Lips+ are approved in both 1.0 mL and 1.2 mL syringe sizes.
And a "half syringe" is a clinic pricing practice, not a labeled product size.
When you compare prices, ask which product is being quoted and in what size syringe.
How many syringes will you need by area?
We found no label, professional body or peer-reviewed source that gives a standard number of syringes per face area — so treat any "2 syringes for cheeks" chart with caution.
Pricing for that area is broken down in what cheek filler costs.
What exists are trial volumes and label maximums, and they are specific to one product and one area.
In Restylane Kysse's US pivotal trial (273 subjects randomized 2:1 against a control), the median volume for initial treatment plus touch-up was 2.50 mL across all areas, including a median 0.90 mL in the upper lip and 0.80 mL in the lower lip.
The Kysse label sets a recommended maximum of 6 mL per patient per treatment — 3 mL for the lips and 3 mL for the perioral area.
Sculptra's label allows up to one 8 mL-reconstituted vial (9 mL) per cheek per session for cheek wrinkles, and up to 4.5 mL per nasolabial fold.
Published per-area volumes (trial medians and label maximums)
| Product and area | Volume | What the number is |
|---|---|---|
| Restylane Kysse, upper lip | 0.90 mL | Median in the US pivotal trial |
| Restylane Kysse, lower lip | 0.80 mL | Median in the US pivotal trial |
| Restylane Kysse, lips | 3 mL | Recommended maximum per treatment |
| Sculptra, each cheek (cheek wrinkles) | 9 mL | Label maximum per session (one 8 mL-reconstituted vial) |
| Sculptra, each nasolabial fold | 4.5 mL | Label maximum per session |
In ASPS's 2025 statistics release, lip augmentation accounted for 23% of HA filler treatments.
Your own number is set at the consultation, where the injector sizes the area against the product's label limits, and at an office that prices per syringe, the bill is that per-syringe price multiplied by the syringes used.
Area-level prices are a separate question: lip filler cost and under-eye filler cost are covered on their own pages.
Why do filler prices vary (product, injector, city)?
ASPS names four things that move a filler bill: the injector's expertise and qualifications, the type of procedure, the time and effort required, and the geographic location of the office.
The product matters too: ASPS's own figures differ by category — $715 average for hyaluronic acid fillers against $901 for non-HA fillers such as Radiesse, Sculptra and Bellafill.
The injector matters because of what FDA says about the procedure itself: the agency advises choosing a licensed health care provider with dermatology or plastic-surgery experience who is trained in filler injection, and describes filler injection as a medical procedure, not a cosmetic treatment.
Location moves prices too, which is why a national figure may not resemble the quote at the office near you.
One cost line is settled: ASPS says health insurance does not cover dermal fillers.
Find dermal fillers providers near you
Compare Google ratings, reviews and posted prices at med spas in your city.
Are cheap filler deals and Groupons safe?
FDA's published filler warnings are the fixed points here.
The agency warns that unapproved versions of Juvéderm — Juvederm Ultra 2, 3 and 4 — have been sold in the US, including online, and should not be used.
FDA also says needle-free devices such as "hyaluron pens" are not approved for injecting dermal fillers, that no filler is approved for over-the-counter use, and that people should not inject themselves or buy filler online.
A deep discount is not proof of a problem, and a high price is not proof of quality; what FDA offers is a checklist: a licensed health care provider, trained in filler injection, with dermatology or plastic-surgery experience.
What FDA warns against
- Juvederm Ultra 2, 3 and 4, which are not approved in the US
- Needle-free devices such as "hyaluron pens"
- Buying filler online; no filler is approved for over-the-counter use
- Injecting yourself
What FDA advises
- A licensed health care provider
- Trained in filler injection
- With dermatology or plastic-surgery experience
FDA calls unintentional injection into a blood vessel the most concerning filler risk. It is rare, but it can cause tissue death, vision problems including blindness, and stroke, and the damage may be permanent. FDA advises seeking immediate medical attention for unusual pain, vision changes, white, gray or blue skin near the injection site, or signs of stroke during or shortly after treatment.
Can you pay over time or use rewards?
Health insurance does not cover dermal fillers, per ASPS, which adds that many plastic surgeons offer patient financing plans and suggests asking. Financing your treatment covers how those plans work.
The filler makers run rewards programs of their own.
Allergan's Allē rewards program gives 100 points = $10 toward qualifying treatments, including Juvéderm and Kybella.
Galderma's ASPIRE program, for Restylane, Sculptra and other Galderma products, offers a $20-off welcome reward, 100 points = $10 in savings and up to 600 points per visit, per Galderma's Restylane site.
The makers also run dated promotions: the 2026 Juvéderm Day, the fourth annual, was held on August 19, 2026, with a buy-one-get-one $75 Juvéderm gift card for Allē members at JuvedermDay.com while supplies lasted and double Allē points on up to two syringes from August 19 to 31, 2026.
That event has ended; treat it as an example of the format, not a standing offer.
Filler makers' rewards programs
| Program | Products | Points value | Other terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Allē (Allergan) | Juvéderm, Kybella and other qualifying treatments | 100 points = $10 | Dated promotions such as Juvéderm Day |
| ASPIRE (Galderma) | Restylane, Sculptra and other Galderma products | 100 points = $10 | $20-off welcome reward; up to 600 points per visit |
See published filler prices near you
None of the figures on this page is a local price: one is a manufacturer's range and the others are survey averages from plastic surgeons.
The number you will actually pay comes from an individual office, and it is worth getting in writing before you book.
Ask the office four things: the product it plans to use, the syringe size in mL, the price per syringe, and who will inject and how they are trained.
With those answers you can compare quotes between offices on the same terms — and see where a low price comes with a smaller syringe or a product you did not ask for.
- Which filler product will be used, by its full name
- What size syringe the price covers, in mL
- The price per syringe, and what the quoted total includes
- Who will inject, and what training they have
Frequently asked questions
How much is 1 ml of dermal filler?
There is no confirmed national price per mL.
Allergan says Juvéderm treatment can range from $600 to $1,400 depending on product and provider, and it does not define that as a per-syringe figure.
ASPS reports average fees of $715 for hyaluronic acid fillers and $901 for non-HA fillers, reported by its member plastic surgeons.
A syringe is not always 1 mL — Revanesse Versa, Versa+ and Lips+ are approved in 1.0 mL and 1.2 mL sizes — so ask for the per-syringe price on the specific product.
How many syringes of filler will I need?
We found no label, professional body or peer-reviewed source that sets a standard syringe count per area, so treat any chart's set number with caution.
The published numbers are trial medians and label maximums: in the Restylane Kysse trial the median volume was 0.90 mL in the upper lip and 0.80 mL in the lower lip, and Sculptra's label allows up to one vial per cheek per session for cheek wrinkles.
An injector sizes the area at a consultation, based on you and the product.
Does insurance cover dermal fillers?
No. ASPS says health insurance does not cover dermal fillers, and adds that many plastic surgeons offer patient financing plans, so it is worth asking.
The makers also run loyalty programs: Allergan's Allē gives 100 points = $10 toward qualifying treatments including Juvéderm, and Galderma's ASPIRE offers a $20-off welcome reward with 100 points = $10 in savings, per the companies' own sites.
Terms change, so check the program before you count on it.
Why is filler cheaper at some med spas?
ASPS names the injector's expertise and qualifications, the type of procedure, the time and effort required and the office's location as the things that move filler price.
FDA warns that unapproved versions of Juvederm (Ultra 2, 3 and 4) have been sold in the US, including online, and should not be used, and says not to buy filler online or inject yourself.
We cannot verify any individual clinic's deal; ask which product, what syringe size and who will inject.
Sources
Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.
- JUVÉDERM® Dermal Fillers | Restore Volume & Contour · juvederm.com
- Dermal Fillers Cost · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
- plasticsurgery.org · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
- accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- restylaneusa.com · restylaneusa.com
- sculptrausa.com · sculptrausa.com
- FDA-Approved Dermal Fillers · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- Dermal Fillers (Soft Tissue Fillers) · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
- JUVÉDERM® Day Returns to U.S. on August 19 · news.abbvie.com
- FAQs · mykybella.com
- Earn Restylane® Rewards & Savings · restylaneusa.com
Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.