Part of the Juvederm guide · 4 articles

Juvederm Lip Filler: Volbella vs Ultra XC

Two Juvederm products are FDA-approved for the lips: Ultra XC, approved in 2015, and Volbella XC, approved in 2016. The rest of the line is approved for other areas, not the lips. This page compares the two Juvederm lip fillers — labeled uses, results, how long Allergan says they last, cost, and how they compare with Restylane Kysse — and leaves the final call to you and a licensed provider.

2Juvederm fillers approved for lipsUltra XC (2015) and Volbella XC (2016), FDA approvals
Up to 1 yearMaker's duration claimAllergan, Volbella XC and Ultra XC in the lips, with optimal treatment
Generally 30 days or lessSide effects lastedVolbella XC lips, mild or moderate, in Allergan's studies
$600–$1,400Allergan's price rangeJuvederm treatment, varies by product and provider (Allergan)

Key takeaways

  • Only Juvederm Ultra XC and Volbella XC are FDA-approved for the lips; Ultra Plus XC, Vollure and Voluma are not.
  • The Juvederm safety information says most common side effects resolve within 30 days.
  • ASPS lists a $743 average fee for lip augmentation with filler, reported by member plastic surgeons.
  • FDA says filler should be considered a medical procedure, not a cosmetic treatment.

Volbella vs Ultra XC for lips

Juvederm is Allergan's collection of six hyaluronic acid fillers, each approved for its own areas of the face, and Allergan says all six contain lidocaine.

Only two of them are approved for the lips: Juvederm Ultra XC and Juvederm Volbella XC.

Ultra XC was approved on September 30, 2015 (PMA P050047) for injection into the lips and perioral area — the area around the mouth — for lip augmentation in adults over 21.

Volbella XC was approved on May 31, 2016 (PMA P110033 S018) for lip augmentation and for correction of perioral lines — lines around the mouth — in adults over 21.

In their lip approvals, that is what separates the two products: Volbella XC's lip approval covers correcting perioral lines as well as adding volume, while Ultra XC's covers augmentation of the lips and perioral area.

Each also has a non-lip approval: Ultra XC for moderate to severe facial wrinkles and folds such as nasolabial folds, and Volbella XC, since May 28, 2021, for under-eye (infraorbital) hollowing in adults over 21.

Which one fits you is not something the labels decide — it is a question for a licensed provider who has examined your lips.

Juvederm Ultra XC Juvederm Volbella XC
FDA approval for lips September 30, 2015 (PMA P050047) May 31, 2016 (PMA P110033 S018)
Labeled lip use Lip augmentation in the lips and perioral area Lip augmentation and correction of perioral lines
Age Adults over 21 Adults over 21
Maker's duration claim Up to 1 year with optimal treatment Up to 1 year with optimal treatment

Don't assume every Juvederm box is a lip filler.

Ultra Plus XC is approved only for moderate to severe facial wrinkles and folds such as nasolabial folds and has no lip indication, and the same is true of Vollure and Voluma.

If a practice offers "Juvederm lips," it is fair to ask which of the two lip-approved products is in the syringe.

Juvederm lip filler results and before and after

Allergan says Juvederm results are visible immediately after treatment, and that its fillers are injected with a needle or a cannula.

What the maker documents afterwards is mostly injection reactions: the Juvederm important safety information lists redness, swelling, pain, tenderness, firmness, lumps/bumps, bruising, discoloration and itching as the most common side effects — dryness also with Volbella XC — and says most resolve within 30 days.

For Volbella XC in the lips specifically, Allergan reports that side effects in its studies were mild or moderate and generally lasted 30 days or less.

Juvederm's labeling advises avoiding makeup for 12 hours after treatment and minimizing strenuous exercise, extensive sun or heat exposure, and alcohol for the first 24 hours, because these may cause temporary redness, swelling and/or itching.

12 hoursAvoid makeup after treatmentJuvederm labeling
24 hoursMinimize strenuous exercise, sun or heat, and alcoholJuvederm labeling

Before-and-after photos practices post are other people's results, not a prediction of yours — the labeled indications and the maker's reported side-effect figures are the documented part.

One slower reaction is worth knowing about: a study at one Canadian clinic of delayed-onset nodules after Allergan's Vycross fillers (Volbella, Vollure, Voluma) found them in 0.33% of 2,139 patients, and an earlier US chart review found them in 1.0% of Volbella patients; all nodules in the US series resolved with steroid injection plus hyaluronidase.

The most concerning filler risk

FDA calls unintentional injection into a blood vessel the most concerning risk with dermal fillers: it is rare, but it can cause tissue death (necrosis), vision problems including blindness, and stroke, and the damage may be permanent. FDA says to seek immediate medical attention for unusual pain, vision changes, a white, gray or blue appearance of skin near the injection site, or any signs of stroke.

How long does Juvederm last in the lips?

Allergan says that with optimal treatment, results from Volbella XC and Ultra XC in the lips can last up to 1 year.

Both halves of that sentence matter: "up to" is a maximum, not an average, and "with optimal treatment" is the maker's own condition.

This is a manufacturer claim, not a figure the label guarantees.

You will also see longer numbers in general lip-filler advice.

Cleveland Clinic says lip filler typically lasts 12 to 18 months depending on age and metabolism — a general figure that is not specific to Juvederm.

The maker's own claim for both lip-approved Juvederm products is up to 1 year.

Duration figures are not interchangeable

"Up to 1 year" is Allergan's claim for Volbella XC and Ultra XC in the lips. Cleveland Clinic's 12 to 18 months is a general lip filler figure. Neither is a promise for your result — how long your correction holds is a question to raise with your provider at the follow-up visit.

How much does Juvederm for lips cost?

There is no single national price.

Allergan's consumer site says Juvederm treatment can range from $600 to $1,400 depending on the product and provider.

The American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS) lists an average cost of $743 for lip augmentation with filler — an average fee per treatment reported by ASPS member plastic surgeons, not med spa prices — and ASPS does not state the data year.

$743Average fee for lip augmentation with fillerASPS member plastic surgeons, not med spa prices; data year not stated

ASPS says filler cost varies with the injector's expertise and qualifications, the type of procedure, the time and effort required and the geographic location of the office, and that health insurance does not cover dermal fillers.

Allergan's Allē loyalty program gives 100 points = $10 toward qualifying treatments, including Juvederm.

The Juvederm guide covers the whole collection, including what treatment costs.

Juvederm vs Restylane Kysse for lips

Restylane Kysse (Galderma) is another filler approved specifically for the lips: FDA approved on March 26, 2020 for lip augmentation and correction of upper perioral lines in patients over 21.

This section compares two makers' lip-approved products —Allergan's Ultra XC (2015) and Volbella XC (2016), and Galderma's Kysse (2020).

Lip-approved Juvederm and Kysse labels

Juvederm Ultra XCJuvederm Volbella XCRestylane Kysse
MakerAllerganAllerganGalderma
FDA approval for lipsSeptember 30, 2015May 31, 2016March 26, 2020
Labeled lip useLip augmentation in the lips and perioral areaLip augmentation and correction of perioral linesLip augmentation and correction of upper perioral lines
AgeAdults over 21Adults over 21Patients over 21

Galderma's instructions for use report a duration result from Kysse's pivotal trial: 60% of treated subjects (101 of 169) were still lip-fullness responders at week 48 — about a year — on blinded evaluator rating.

That is a trial result for Kysse, not a duration claim, and we found no trial comparing Kysse with either Juvederm product head-to-head, so the trial figure is not a ranking.

60%Kysse subjects still lip-fullness responders at week 48101 of 169, Kysse pivotal trial, blinded evaluator; not a head-to-head comparison

What the labels share: all three products are approved for lip augmentation in adults over 21, and none of the duration figures above is a promise.

For the brands beyond Juvederm and Kysse, the lip filler guide covers the rest, and FDA advises choosing a licensed health care provider with dermatology or plastic-surgery experience who is trained in filler injection — filler, FDA says, should be considered a medical procedure, not a cosmetic treatment.

Frequently asked questions

Which Juvederm is best for lips?

Only two Juvederm products are approved for the lips: Ultra XC (2015) and Volbella XC (2016).

Volbella XC's label also covers correcting perioral lines, while Ultra XC's covers augmentation of the lips and perioral area.

Allergan says both can last up to 1 year with optimal treatment.

The labels do not rank one over the other, so which fits you is a decision to make with a licensed provider after an in-person exam.

How long does Juvederm last in the lips?

Allergan says results from Juvederm Volbella XC and Ultra XC in the lips can last up to 1 year with optimal treatment — a manufacturer maximum, not a guarantee.

Cleveland Clinic puts general lip filler at 12 to 18 months depending on age and metabolism, a broader figure not specific to Juvederm.

In Restylane Kysse's own trial, 60% of treated subjects were still lip-fullness responders at week 48.

How much does Juvederm cost for lips?

Allergan's consumer site says Juvederm treatment can range from $600 to $1,400 depending on the product and provider.

ASPS lists a $743 average fee per treatment for lip augmentation with filler, reported by its member plastic surgeons — not med spa prices.

Cost varies with the injector's expertise and qualifications, the type of procedure, the time and effort required and the office's location, and health insurance does not cover dermal fillers.

Is Juvederm Ultra Plus XC approved for lips?

No. Juvederm Ultra Plus XC is indicated only for moderate to severe facial wrinkles and folds, such as nasolabial folds — it has no lip indication.

The same is true of Vollure and Voluma.

The Juvederm products approved for lips are Ultra XC and Volbella XC, so it is fair to ask which product a provider plans to place before you book.

Sources

Every number on this page comes from one of these sources and was checked against it.

  1. Dermal Fillers (Soft Tissue Fillers) · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  2. accessdata.fda.gov · U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  3. JUVÉDERM® Dermal Fillers | Restore Volume & Contour · juvederm.com
  4. How Juvéderm® Fillers Work · juvederm.com
  5. How Juvéderm® Fillers Work · juvederm.com
  6. restylaneusa.com · restylaneusa.com
  7. Dermal Fillers Cost · American Society of Plastic Surgeons
  8. Incidence and treatment of delayed-onset nodules after VYC filler injections to 2139 patients at a single Canadian clinic · Rivers, J Cosmet Dermatol, 2022
  9. Lip Fillers: What to Expect, Types, Benefits & Side Effects · Cleveland Clinic
  10. FAQs · mykybella.com

Medical disclaimer. MedSpaStandard is for education only and is not medical advice. Talk to a licensed provider about your own health, and check any provider's license with your state board.